Eating Like There’s No Tomorrow

Yesterday I was reading Jen’s blog (AKA the Prior Fat Girl), and one of the comments on the post has had me thinking about it ever since. Dineen, from Eat Without Guilt said at the end of her comment, “Because life truly is too short to be worrying about something we do daily…eat.”

Can I get an AMEN?? How true is that? And yet I spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about food and worrying about what I eat. When I’m eating breakfast I’m often thinking about lunch, and when I’m eating lunch I’m thinking about dinner or what snack I will have before dinner. I know this isn’t normal, nor is it healthy, and yet as many others have written, I don’t know what a normal relationship with food looks like. I’ve never had one. I look at my husband, who has been the same, healthy weight for years, and I wish I could be like that. If it’s “time” for lunch, and he’s not hungry, guess what? He doesn’t eat anything! Me? If it’s pushing noon, I’m thinking or saying, “Oh my goodness, I need to eat lunch! It’s almost noon!” As if all of the food in the kitchen will expire at 12:01. On my post about the happy plate, Sweet Melissa commented about how, if something is really good, she will eat like she’ll never be able to have it again, and that’s exactly what I do. It’s as though I must eat everything I have RIGHT NOW because an evil food fairy will come and take it away if I don’t! I eat as though tomorrow it will be gone. I want to just eat a meal, enjoy the food but not obsess over it, stop when I’m full, and get on with the rest of life. Sometimes I feel like I will never get to that place, but I know in my heart that right now I’m not even actively TRYING to get to that place, so I need to put up a fight and not give in every time crazy urges to eat come over me.

If you have any tips for avoiding those munchy urges, please enlighten me!

In other, more shallow and superficial news, I’m experimenting with curly hair. Opinions? I’m not really sure what to do with my bangs when I wear my hair curly. (And I did take a shot where I’m not tilting my head at this odd angle, but it was harder to see the curl, hence this funky pose.)

8 thoughts on “Eating Like There’s No Tomorrow

  1. YES! i so agree. its great to just eat a meal and enjoy life, you know? that's why i'm bad at diets though.

    cute pic! when i had bangs, i would still leave my bangs straight when my hair was curly, just because if i curled my bangs too then i'd look crazy, haha!

    Like

  2. Something that I now say frequently is 'my mouth is hungry but my stomach isnt'. I have learned to seperate the two – whether I want to eat something because it tastes good or because I am hungry. I often say that out loud because it helps me to stop eating – and my husband will help also. When I say it out loud it seems even more crazy when I put food into my mouth.

    I also want to say that it is far easier to not be thinking about food constantly when you arent the one responsible for making dinner or doing the grocery shopping! Since it is usually the wife that takes care of these things, it makes it much easier for our husbands to not think about food all of the time!

    Like

  3. I think it's interesting that we struggle so much with gluttony and this obsession with food in the West…yes, God gave us food for nourishment and enjoyment, so let's use it as that- and no more. Ironically, it's lunchtime while I'm typing this and I am soooo hungry…

    As for tips to avoid munching? Run away from the kitchen. Fast. It's the only thing that works for me…

    And I heart the hair! If you can get your hair to do curly and straight, that is super duper amazing!

    Like

  4. Regarding the munchies, I have read that feeling thristy and feeling hungry are very similar “electrical signals”. So if you feel the munchies, maybe you need some more water? Just a thought.

    Like

  5. Blueberries work for me when I start to crave the sweets and salt. I just pop a handful in my mouth and the urge goes away. I can not really explain it but it works. They are cold, sweet and a little salty. I keep them in stock at home and work. Also making a weekly plan for eating and exercise can help. Good luck!

    Like

  6. For me, when I'm busy, I think about food less. When I have a lot of time on my hands, I have a lot of time to think about everything in general: my food, my working out, my clothes, my hair, my toe nail polish, yadda yadda yadda.

    I love the wavy hair! The bangs look good with the wave or maybe you could pin them back in a boufant (sp?) thing. What product do you use? I have wavy hair too and I love John Freida Dream Curls…

    Like

  7. You will get to that place where you can just enjoy the food without worrying about the next meal. You have done so well!!

    Do you ever try gum when you get the muchies? That, and hot tea really helped me.

    I like the straight bangs, even with the cute curls!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

