Friday Five: Gilmore Girls Quotes

For this week’s Friday Five, I’ve chosen five quotes from my favorite TV show of all time, Gilmore Girls. There are a lot of quotes to choose from, but I picked ones that really stuck out to me. Enjoy!

1. Spoken by Paris about a student she’s tutoring: “She’s got a C average which means she’s either lazy or stupid. I can work with either. Frankly sometimes stupid is easier. I can scare the stupid out of you, but the lazy runs deep.”

2. Lorelai: Huh. You know what I just realized? Oy is the funniest word in the entire world. I mean, think about it. You never hear the word oy and not smile. Impossible. Funny, funny word. Poodle is another funny word.

Emily: Please drink your drink, Lorelai.

Lorelai: In fact, if you put oy and poodle together in the same sentence, you’d have a great new catch phrase, you know? Like, “Oy with the poodles already.” So from now on, when the perfect circumstances arise, we will use our favorite new catch phrase.

Rory: Oy with the poodles already!

Lorelai: I’m telling you, it’s knocking “Whatcha talking ’bout, Willis?” right out of first place.

3. Paris: “I can’t help it. Any way I look at it, I’m right.”

4. Sookie: I am so sad…and mad. I’m smad.

5. Jess: “Great, then we can hold hands and skip afterwards.”

Honorable mentions

Paris: “I don’t see anyone here who shouldn’t be sterilized immediately.”

Lorelai: “Copper boom!”

Luke: Rory’s not here yet.
Lorelai: Then you’ll have to entertain me until she arrives. Okay Burger boy, dance.
Luke: Will you marry me?
[Lorelai is taken aback]
Luke: Just looking for something to shut you up.

Logan: Rory, you’re special.
Rory: Like “stop-eating-the-paste” special?

Lorelai: “The plural of cul-de-sac is culs-de-sac? That doesn’t even sound like English.”
Rory: “That’s because it’s French.”

Okay, guess I should have just done a top 10.

If you’re a fan of Gilmore Girls, what are your favorite quotes? If you’re not a fan, I am sad for you, but feel free to share any other memorable quotes. 🙂

13 thoughts on “Friday Five: Gilmore Girls Quotes

  1. My favorite quote follows one of my favorite ever scenes: the one where Luke and Jess argue and Luke ends up pushing him into the lake as they're walking away…right after that he frantically goes to Lorelai for advice on what to do next and when he's recounting the story he says something like “I got angry and didn't know what to do…..so I pushed him in the lake.”
    One of my favorite episodes!

    Like

  2. Okay here are some of my faves…this was hard to narrow down…:)

    Rory:
    “But my ultimate inspiration comes from my best friend, the dazzling woman from whom I received my name and my life's blood, Lorelai Gilmore. My mother never gave me any idea that I couldn't do whatever I wanted to do or be whomever I wanted to be. She filled our house with love and fun and books and music, unflagging in her efforts to give me role models from Jane Austen to Eudora Welty to Patti Smith. As she guided me through these incredible eighteen years, I don't know if she ever realized that the person I most wanted to be was her.”

    (I might have cried like a baby here…)

    Luke:
    “This tastes pink. Really pink. It's like drinking a My Little Pony.”

    Paris:
    “Gilmore, do you see any of my students falling in love with me? No, and do you know why? Because you don't fall in love with people that make you want to crap your pants!”

    There is another that I might have to watch the episode to get the exact wordage…but its when jess googles to see how far it is to Yale:)

    Like

  3. Amanda, I know that scene! They just showed that episode on ABC Family not too long ago. So funny.

    Sarah, definitely cry every time I watch that speech of Rory's.

    That My Little Pony Luke quote is hilarious. I'd forgotten about that.

    Oh, and here's a YouTube clip of that scene where Jess looked up the distance to Yale (22.8 miles): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNopVjhhV-A

    Like

  4. when we were in college, my best friend & I totally captured the phrase “oy with the poodles already” & used it in everyday conversation.
    last year, for my birthday, she made me a shirt with iron-on letters which spelled out – you guess it – “Oy with the poodles already.”
    it was grand & I wore it everywhere until the letters started falling off. I think it looks more like “oy with the oodles al eady” instead of the original form.
    oh well.
    🙂

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

