Adventures in Baking

I blame it all on The Food Network.

On Saturday, Hubby and I were watching The Best Thing I Ever Ate (all about pizza), and Aaron Sanchez was talking about this amazing dessert pizza he loved. Then we watched him eating it, and we knew that we too needed to make a dessert pizza. Hubby was all excited about it and had ideas, but I was a little skeptical, since I am the consummate recipe follower. I don’t invent my own culinary creations; I don’t even like to deviate from a recipe, so the thought of attempting something without so much as as an ingredient list was slightly terrifying. However, hubby convinced me to try it, so we went to the kitchen for a little food reconnaissance. Turns out we had everything we needed to make our very own pizza! Here’s what we used:

1 can Pillsbury pizza crust dough (No, I do not make my own dough. Sue me.)
Toll House chocolate chips (any other kind just won’t do, in my opinion)
Peanut butter
Miniature marshmallows
Pecans, slightly chopped

I have no idea what quantities we used because it was definitely more of an eyeballing endeavor, but we started by rolling out the pizza crust. Then we generously sprinkled chocolate chips all over the crust, followed by dollops of peanut butter placed in various places. Then we added the marshmallows and pecans, and we finished it off with a drizzle of Hershey’s chocolate syrup. Here’s what it looked like before we baked it:

From Blogger Pictures

And after it was finished:

From Blogger Pictures

If we make it again, we’ll wait to do the chocolate drizzle until after we’ve baked the pizza, but overall, it was ten kinds of delicious. The chocolate chips were slightly melted but not too gooey, the marshmallows had a nice toasty flavor, and the peanut butter was a wonderful compliment to the whole pizza. It was our dinner that night, and because it was a holiday weekend, the calories don’t count. Right? πŸ˜‰

Now, the only thing left to decide is what to call it. I was thinking of calling it Peanut Butter S’mores Pizza, but it doesn’t have graham crackers, so that name is not entirely accurate. I suppose if I’m going for accuracy I should just call it Weight Gain Pizza. πŸ™‚ I also thought of calling it Paradise on a Pizza, but I’m open to other suggestions. Any ideas?

One more thing: thanks to all of you for your thoughts on my running/weight loss dilemma. The consensus seems to be that running makes me hungrier which means I eat more, and I think this is definitely true, so I am going to have be more mindful of how much I eat on running days. While some runners brag that they can eat whatever they want because they run, I am not one of those people, so I don’t need to give myself that excuse to go off the caloric deep end.

13 thoughts on “Adventures in Baking

  1. That pizza looks AMAZING!
    I'm going to have to try it out.
    I have made a dessert pizza by Paula Deen. I divided the pizza up into 4 different toppings and areas.
    1: was a smores with graham crackers, marshmellows and chocolate.
    2: was m&m's and peanut butter.
    3: was white and regular chocolate.
    4: peanut butter and bananas.
    Obviously we like peanut butter.
    I like the name “Weight Gain Pizza.” That's what it would do to me if I ate it all the time. This would definitely be great for a party to feed a bunch of people.

    Keep up the great work!!!

    Like

  2. Okay, that looks delicious!
    Also, I am DEFINITELY not a runner who can eat whatever I want…I was basically doing that when I first started and gained a few pounds because of it! Unfortunately for me, I seem to only lose weight when I'm really watching what I eat…regardless of how many calories I'm burning through running.

    Like

  3. Okay – I just think that this is decadent it has to be okay to eat the whole pan!!

    I've done something similiar, but instead of using pizza crust dough, I used Pillsburg sugar cookie dough, baked it, then topped it. It was pretty good too!

    Right back on the wagon now – right??!

    Like

  4. My G-mom makes dessert fruit pizza totally differently. She uses sugar cookie as the “crust” then uses cream cheese and whipped cream as the sauce, and tops it with all kinds of fruit – strawberries and pineapple.

    Like

  5. how about “diabolical dessert pizza”! it looks so good–i saw that episode on the food network too and was drooling! in general, that show is bad news for me (but you know my baking habit anyway)

    now…on to make strawberry cupcakes! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. Um…can you send me some of that please? I like Ginny's idea of having four different sections too…oh man, I want to go make that for breakfast, and that would not be a good start to the day…

    Like

  7. That looks absolutely delicious!

    Something that I think might be just as tasty would be a fruit type dessert pizza. Use that cream cheese dipping stuff they sell with fruit trays (I dont know what it really is) with some fruit over top of it. Just bake the crust first. Still weight gain pizza, but at least there would be fruit!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

