Missing: Endurance

One thing I realized yesterday when I attempted to run was that my endurance disappears quickly. I only ran once last week for about 40 minutes, and the week before that I only ran for about 90 minutes total. (And yes, my goal was 120 minutes a week. Yikes.) Well, the lack of running definitely took its toll, since yesterday I only managed to run for 25 minutes! The whole time I was running I felt like I was back in my Couch to 5k training, when things like 8 minute runs seemed impossible. The weather wasn’t even a factor in the difficult run, either, since it was in the low 70s and cloudy, so I can’t blame it on that (rats!). I am hoping that tomorrow’s run will be easier and that I can manage at least 40 minutes. If I can’t get back on track, there is no way I will be able to manage an 8 mile run by the end of the month.

I’m also rethinking my plan of running the half marathon in December. I am not sure I am ready for that. I only started running about six months ago, and it wasn’t until May that I was running 3 miles, so is it too soon to be thinking about running 13 miles? I confess to being more than a little intimidated by the distance. I know I still have a lot of time to plan for it, but I feel like I need to get in a regular habit of running longer runs every week (without each one feeling incredibly difficult) before I can do the half marathon. There is a half marathon in Germantown in March of next year, and the Country Music Half in Nashville in April, and I think by the spring I definitely will be more ready for a longer race. I know I can run a half marathon; I just want to make sure I don’t try to do too much too soon. Am I being a wimp?

7 thoughts on “Missing: Endurance

  1. I don't think you are being a wimp but I also think you can do it. Look at how much you have done in 6 months alone…. I can't even imagine running 25 minutes straight, never mind the 40. I think if you set your mind to it, see it as a goal to strive towards, I know you can do it.

    And I fully understand the intimidation factor – I too would be just like you πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I totally agree with Sandra. You have been a huge inspiration to me to (eventually) get my behind moving and attempt this whole “running” thing. (Because, really…my running looks more like stilted skipping than actual running)
    When it all comes down to it, Erin – you have to know what you can & cannot do. Even though I believe you can do it, you gotta believe it yourself. And I am going to stop now because I sound like a life coach.
    But it's true.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I think you can do it if you really want to. But if you feel like it would be too much, how about a 10K by the end of the year, and a half marathon in the Spring? That way you are pushing yourself a bit, but not too much!

    Looking forward to lunch today!

    Like

  4. I dont think you are being a wimp! How far you have come in 6 months is impressive!

    (Not that I want to give you another excuse, but running in the cold, dry air can be just as difficult as running in the heat and humidity. I think that running through the winter without being in a race will be a good way to help you prepare anyway!)

    Like

  5. There is something called the Triple Crown of Racing in Louisville…I think it'sa 5k one weekend, then a 10k, and then a half marathon…you should come to that and then you can see me πŸ™‚

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

