This Entry Brought to You by the Color Purple

If you know me well, you know I love the color purple. I was no aware of how obvious this love could sometimes be until one day in class a student (a male, no less) asked me if purple was my favorite color. Surprised, I said yes and then asked how he knew that. He said, “You kind of wear it a lot.” Oops. Clinton and Stacy would not be proud.

I also have another, lesser known love. Allow me to demonstrate with a picture:

Yes, that’s right. I love water bottles. The criteria by which I select these bottles is very important. There are a few essentials a bottle MUST have if I am to purchase it:

1. It must hold at least 24 oz. of water. I drink a lot of water, so the less I have to refill a bottle, the better.
2. It must have either a straw or an easy-to-access top. I do not like bottles that just have lids that screw off–too time consuming and annoying. And as mentioned before, I love straws, so I am super excited when I find bottles that have them as well.
3. It must not cost more than $8. I don’t want to spend a fortune on something that holds a beverage that costs me nothing.

That’s pretty much it. I like a bottle that looks cute, but I have passed up many a pretty bottle for not meeting the above criteria, which is why I am in possession of the first bottle in the above picture. It has a pop-top, a handle, holds 32 oz. of water, and cost me all of $1.50. It’s the most boring bottle ever, but it serves its purpose. The third bottle in the picture was my favorite, as it is from SeaWorld (though you wouldn’t know this because the genius who took the picture did not face the SeaWorld label toward the camera). Note that I said it was my favorite, however, because over the holiday weekend, my husband and I were in Kohl’s, and he directed me to this:

I could almost hear the choir of angels singing for joy. It is not only purple, my favorite color, but it holds a whopping 64 oz. (the recommended daily intake), has a straw and a handle, and also has the ounces measured out on the side of the bottle so I can see how much I have drunk. Plus, it was on sale for $6.99 (50% off). There was nothing to do but purchase it.

Now, the downside to this bottle is its size. When full, it weighs approximately 4.5 pounds (thank you, food scale), and it takes up quite a bit of space in the fridge, especially when combined with the other four bottles, and as my husband pointed out, do I really need 6 bottles in the fridge at a time? No. So I actually got rid of one (not pictured), put another one away, and now there are 4 bottles in the fridge. Still, the new one is my favorite, and I think we’re going to be very happy together.

Note: I did not in fact plan to wear purple in this picture. That was just a happy coincidence. πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “This Entry Brought to You by the Color Purple

  1. Oh, I love it!! It's such a perfect shade of purple too!! You know I love purple (um, hello living room!!)

    What's funny is that I always have a hard time drinking enough water—but I started using a straw and I have been guzzling away. Something makes it easier and more fun to just sip on a straw all day long.

    Anyway, I love your matching purple shirt.

    Oh, and choirs of angels sing when I find amazing things in stores too! I thought I was the only one!

    Like

  2. OMG Erin, me thinks we are quite a bit alike πŸ™‚ You should SEE my water bottle collection πŸ™‚

    I have two 32oz metal ones, 4 32oz nalgene, a couple of other clear plastic ones (with handles), then in the trailer I have a couple more, and then a few smaller ones, one metal, two nalgene….
    it's too funny.

    Like

  3. oh ps, funny story: i went to a thing the other day and got a packet of free stuff. i was SO excited when I saw there was a water bottle included… UNTIL i saw that the sponsor of it was actually a “family planning center” in our town that had “it's your choice” or something like that written all over it… I can't even use it in public with a clear conscience, really makes me mad too b/c i REALLY wanted to… o well. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. i am totally laughing out loud–before i scrolled down i was ready to comment about MY new favorite water bottle (of which i also have quite a collection) that I got at a discount store yesterday…it has a straw, a flip top, is pink, and a handle, and holds 64 oz. of water…LOL–I bought the exact same bottle in pink yesterday!!! I got mine f/m an outlet store for 2.99 though–major deal! i was seriously about to go buy you the other one i saw there (in blue) and mail it to you before i saw that you got it. hilarious! it is awesome though–it holds practically my entire brita pitcher's worth of water, and (almost) got me through a whole day.

    Like

  5. I love it! The weight isnt really a problem – easy weight training with low weights! πŸ˜‰

    I just got a water bottle that is from Camelbak. You have to bite the top and then suck through the straw to get the water – but I like the way it is set up because it doesnt leak at all! The best part? FREE! (from http://www.clubbing.com, but I am not sure if they still have any)

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

