Hit the Road, Jack, and Don’t You Come Back No More!

Today I weighed in at 186.4, which means that I have lost exactly 75 pounds!! It’s taken me 20 months to do it, but I did it! And I don’t plan to EVER see those pounds again. They are gone, and I have gained so much more from this journey than I ever thought I would. I am a runner, for crying out loud! If you had asked any of my friends if they thought I would ever be a runner, I’m sure they all would have said no. I would have said no and laughed. A LOT. And yet I am a runner! I have gained self-confidence and self-awareness. And here’s what I’ve learned:

–I have learned to monitor my eating and make healthier choices.
–I have learned not to give up even when I feel like a massive failure.
–I have learned that healthy living is about DAILY choices and commitment.
–I have learned to own up to my mistakes but to also learn from them and move on.
–I have learned that I enjoy exercise.
–I have learned that losing control at one meal does not mean the whole day is a complete loss.
–I have learned that I can lose weight and keep it off.
–I have learned that it feels better to be healthy than to be overweight.
–I have learned that it feels better to choose healthy foods over junk.
–I have learned that weight loss is not easy, but it is worth the effort. Few things that are worthwhile come easily.
–I have learned that weight loss is a battle of the heart and mind as much as the body.
–I have learned that in Christ alone will I be satisfied. Food does not love me back.

I am so grateful for the support of my sweet husband, who has been my greatest source of support and encouragement. I am not sure I would have made it this far had he not been there with me in the beginning, waking up at 6 a.m. so he could go with me to the gym. I am grateful to all of you, my blog readers, my real life friends, who have cheered me on and given me wisdom and perspective. Thank you, thank you!

I still have 25 more pounds I would like to lose, and I have a feeling they are going to be hardest of all, but I am going for it. I have to because if I don’t, I will always wonder what might have been. I am going to make the most of each day, and I hope you will, too!

A picture taken in March of 2008, about 2 months into my journey:

A picture taken today, 75 pounds GONE:

25 thoughts on “Hit the Road, Jack, and Don’t You Come Back No More!

  1. Ok, I'm officially coming out of lurker mode. šŸ™‚ I'm Sarah Moseley Stiles friend Leslie and have been following your blog since she had a blog (about a year ago). I never commented b/c I thought it would be weird (haha) but I'm SO PROUD of you!! I even looked for you at her wedding, but didn't see you. I was going to come up and give you major kudos on your accomplishments! You are such an inspiration and as far as she has always said, such an amazing, sweet child of God. Way to go Erin! You always give me motivation when I've read your blog. God Bless!

    Like

  2. Thanks, everyone. You guys are so nice! šŸ™‚

    Leslie, I'm so glad you came out of lurker mode! I'm sorry I didn't see you at the wedding. We ended up having to leave the reception pretty early so we could get home to take our dog out. Haha.

    Like

  3. You ROCK Erin. Way to go! Keep up the amazing work, and keep congratulating yourself on the work you've done so far… regardless of how long it takes.

    You are a child of the King, and that's always something to celebrate about!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

