Facing the Giants

First, thanks to all of you for your congratulatory comments. They made me happy! πŸ™‚ Second, I got a job (yay!), and I start tomorrow, so blogging may be scarce as I try and figure out my new routine. I’ll be with you in spirit, of course.

Now, I have a confession: I am scared to lift weights at the gym. I have done it before, but only if one of the following conditions were met 1)no one else was in the weights area or 2)only women were in the weights area. If neither is met, I don’t lift weights. The truth is, seeing a bunch of men over there lifting their 25-pound dumbbells completely intimidates me. I just imagine all of the guys over there smirking at me and my 10-pound or 12-pound weights, or I imagine them thinking, “What is a girl like her doing over here?” My physique doesn’t exactly scream “toned and muscular,” after all (which of course is why I need to use the weights). Even if I enter the gym that day intending to use the free weights, I may leave without doing so, which is what happened on Friday. I did my requisite cardio and kept waiting for the weights area to be free of testosterone, but no such luck. So I left. Lame, huh?

I know this fear is irrational and silly and that the men are more than likely admiring their own muscles in the mirror instead of being concerned with my lack of muscle, and I try giving myself a little pep talk each time before I go, but I end up wimping out anyway. I have some weights at home, but not a lot, and I know I would benefit from using the wide range of weights that the gym offers. I need to get past this fear, so I am pledging to all of my readers that I will face this fear THIS week! If I don’t, I give all of you permission to call me out on it!

Is there anything you dread doing but know you need to do it? How do you get past the dread and just do it?

12 thoughts on “Facing the Giants

  1. You saw my post today (thanks for the nice comment, btw) – I used to not be able to face the scale. Now I do it each week.

    As far as the weights go, I lift 3 times a week and I love it! I started with a trainer who showed me the right moves and helped me build a routine. I don't lift very much at all – between 8-15 lbs, depending on the exercise, but I NEVER get the feeling that anyone is watching or laughing or anything else. I think the guys actually respect it! And my gym is full of some serious lifters. Go for it… do it!

    Like

  2. Congrats on the weight loss! I lift weights in some form or another everyday and for me I absolutely love it. I usually lift 12-15 pounds and like you I used to be scared that people were watching and making fun of me but I try to think of it as a mutual respect. I think if anything they will look at you and think it's cool that you're lifting weights and relate to you more. I think you should definitely try it out and just remember that the more you do it the more comfortable you will be with it. Good luck! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. congrats on the job!!! i deal with this attitude a lot. I just really am afraid of making myself look like a fool or not being able to “pull things off” I even tend to avoid wearing certain types of clothes or jewelry b/c it's out of my comfort zone and I don't want to look like I'm “trying too hard” silly

    Like

  4. What's the job? Congrats!

    Ooooh, I totally use that weight lifting fear to my advantage….I go over that and have to show that I can do it, so I make sure to do it right: good form and a push. Try it! You'll like it.

    David Kirsch has a great book on what to be doing based on your body type. He's Heidi Klum's trainer. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I was the same way.
    But, one of my girlfriends did not have that fear at all. So we would go over there together and it was never bad. Even between all the men. If you can find a partner – even another lady at the gym that wouldn't mind you jumping in with her on a few sets of free weights. It's always nice to be with someone who knows their way around the free weights section!

    Like

  6. Hi there! When I started doing strength training, I bought a couple of Jillian Michaels videos. The 30 Day Shred is great, and her 40-minute video called “No More Trouble Zones” is awesome. Both of those will tone you up in no time!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

