Update and October Goals

I can’t believe it’s been almost a week since my last post. My apologies. I haven’t quite figured out how to fit blogging into my new routine. I started my new job as a receptionist at a local law firm last Wednesday and had training last week with the receptionist I replaced, but this week I’m all on my own. There’s a lot to learn, but I think it’s going well so far.

The biggest adjustment for me has been working from 8:30-5. I was used to a university teaching schedule, where I had free pockets of time throughout the day and wasn’t glued to a desk. I would teach classes, keep my office hours, then either stay at my office or run errands if I needed to, but those days are gone. However, I realize that most of the world has this schedule, so I need to get over it, right? 🙂 The benefit to working all day is that I am not at home where all the food is, so snacking is limited to the one snack that I bring (either raisins or a FiberPlus bar). However, I am STARVING by the time I get home, so the key will be not to go overboard with dinner. I am going to keep my 8 p.m. food curfew in place in the hopes of curbing any nighttime snacking urges.

I did fairly well with my September goals. I kind of dropped the goal of running 120 minutes a week about halfway through the month and am okay with that. I’m focusing more on intense, shorter runs. Aside from the one ICEE slip-up, I drank nothing but water all month. I did immediately drink some Coca-Cola on October 1 (and also had some on Oct. 2 and 3 and today), however, and I enjoyed it thoroughly. 🙂 I still plan on drinking mostly water, though. I did a great job of tracking my food and not eating after 8 (I think I only ate after 8 twice, and I tracked all of my food every day). I faltered a bit in my Bible reading plan last week, but I am just continuing with it and trying to read as much as I can on my lunch breaks. I only read one book. I lost 3.4 pounds, and though it wasn’t quite 4 pounds, it was close enough. 🙂

Even though I didn’t post about them, I did set goals for October. Here they are:

1. Complete two High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) runs per week, for a minimum of 25 minutes per session. I have been using a modified version of a plan I found in Fitness magazine, and it is TOUGH! It gives me something to work up to, though, which is what I need.

2. Complete one Pilates session and at least one weight session per week. Ideally I’d like to do two weight sessions, but I am going to aim for just one because I want to see how my schedule works for me. I am really enjoying the Pilates workouts.

3. No eating after 8 p.m., except for fruit (but only if REALLY hungry). This worked well for me last month, so I’m going to continue it.

4. Run in at least one 5k race. I have my eyes on a few, so I just need to pick one (or two) to run!

Those are my only goals for the month. I’m trying to keep it simple as I adjust to my new schedule. I really have no idea how much I’ll be blogging, but I am trying to keep up with your blogs, even if I don’t comment!

Do you have any October goals?

6 thoughts on “Update and October Goals

  1. Congrats on your loss in September, meeting so many of your goals, and starting a new job!! The hardest thing for me to get used to with my desk job after having a college schedule was the monotony of it all. It still kills me–I miss the mental stimulation! Good luck with everything!

    Like

  2. Hi Erin! I'm enjoying reading your blog, and wanted to wish you luck with whole new job and scheduling thing. I guess that's how we stay on our toes….

    Also wanted to mention a wonderful site to help you keep track of calories, nutrition, exercise, etc – my husband has been working on it at UNCC. It's http://www.411fit.com – a free site, and you can “take a tour” up by the logo on the front page before you register. I've been using it for just over a month and have lost 6 lbs so far…. it's a great little tool!

    Best of luck, Erin!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

