Get Your Body Running, Head Out on the Highway

Today I signed up for my second 5k! It’s benefiting the local YMCA, and it’s on Saturday. I was a little hesitant to sign up for one that comes up so quickly, but I think I am ready for it. I’ve been running steadily since my last 5k, so it should be easy, right? 🙂 I would LOVE to beat my previous time of 34:19, but I also feel a little nervous about making that a specific goal because I don’t want to be disappointed if it doesn’t happen. That’s lame, I know. I just know that my speed hasn’t increased much, if at all, so I don’t know if I can beat that time or not. For now my goal is to finish it under 36:00. I will walk through the water stations because running through them just caused me to choke on the water last time, but I am hoping to run the rest of it. I don’t know anything about the course, so if it’s hilly that may change, but I am just going to have fun.

I also think I am going to run in the Memphis Race for the Cure at the end of the month. I have friends whose relatives have been affected by breast cancer, and so I am glad to have the chance to run for such a worthy cause. Last year I wanted to do it but knew there was no way I could run a 5k. This year I know I can because I already have!

Now all that’s left to do is put together the perfect playlist for my 5k on Saturday! I will definitely post an update after the race.

4 thoughts on “Get Your Body Running, Head Out on the Highway

  1. Erin, awesome about the 5k!!!! I want your playlist too…

    And I just awarded you a blogging award, so you have to head over to my blog and check it out so you can pass it on!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

