Negative Nelly

The fabulous Jen left the following comment on my last post: “Lady lady lady, so many people are reading your blog right now and are thinking ‘wow, I wish I could run a 5K.'” I immediately felt bad for whining about my time, especially when I was so annoyed by the woman at the race who talked about her “slow” time. I should be thankful I had the chance to run at all. I should be thankful for what my legs have gotten me through, for all the miles I’ve walked and run. Considering the fact that a few years ago I never would have even considered running, I’ve come a long way.

One of my biggest flaws is my tendency to dwell on the negative, and I need to be more aware of how this negativity manifests itself, not just in weight loss but in all areas of my life. If I am anticipating an event in my life, I usually don’t expect much beforehand because I am too busy thinking of all the things that can go wrong. I used to tell myself that not getting my hopes up about things just protected me from disappointment, but really, I’m just not brave enough to dream. I’m too scared to truly let myself imagine great things. What does this say about me and my faith in God? Certainly nothing good. I want to know and believe deep deep down that He is able to do “immeasurably more” than all I ask or imagine. I don’t want to be plagued by doubt and fear. That is no way to live life, especially not a life that is meant to glorify God.

Are you brave enough to dream?

7 thoughts on “Negative Nelly

  1. I thought you were talking about me for a second. This quote is me to a T!
    “If I am anticipating an event in my life, I usually don't expect much beforehand because I am too busy thinking of all the things that can go wrong. I used to tell myself that not getting my hopes up about things just protected me from disappointment,”

    And now you've opened my eyes and made me see this side,
    “but really, I'm just not brave enough to dream. I'm too scared to truly let myself imagine great things. “

    I've honestly NEVER thought of it that way but you are SO right! Thank you! I'm always the girl with the glass half empty and I'm going to try to do something to change that!

    Like

  2. You know, I think this is a characteristic we all have, that we tend to dwell on the negative. Such a sad trend in our lives that no matter the accomplishment, we always feel the need to point out the negative first. Why do we feel so ashamed to be proud of our accomplishments? Me to Erin, me too. Good reminder for all of us. We need to be proud of our accomplishments!

    Like

  3. THANK YOU for those verses!! i love them—i typed them up and stuck them to my computer screen at work, so i can think about them during the day. its just what i needed to hear =)

    this post is a great reminder to not stop dreaming–i try all the time to not get my hopes up about things, since dissapointment truly Hurts. but i agree, i think Christians should be creatures of hope, even if its hard to be sometimes.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

