Good News and a Conundrum

I have wonderful news. I’m overweight!! That may seem an odd thing to be excited about, but this morning I weighed in at 184.8, which means I am officially out of the “obese” BMI range! I don’t put a ton of stock in BMI as a measure of health, but I am glad to no longer be in that category, even if I haven’t felt obese in quite a while.

When I set my goal to lose 100 pounds, I knew that even reaching 161 wouldn’t put me in the “healthy” BMI range. For my height (5’6″), I would need to weigh no more than 154 to be in the healthy range, and while that’s only 7 pounds less than my goal weight, I don’t see myself reaching and maintaining that weight because I don’t think I’ve been that small since who knows when. Because I’ve been overweight for most of my life, I have no idea what a realistic weight is for my body. At this point, I’m not even sure I’ll ever get to 161.

If I’m honest with myself, these past few months I haven’t been 100% committed. I’ve allowed myself to eat things I know aren’t the best, and I actually skipped workouts two mornings in a row this week. That’s certainly not going to get me there. I do know I don’t want to gain weight, so I now need to decide how much work I’m willing to put into losing more weight. The truth is, I’m pretty comfortable where I am right now, but does that mean I stop trying for the goal I originally set? I can’t seem to make up my mind.

9 thoughts on “Good News and a Conundrum

  1. Congratulations! I think your original goal is perfect but this journey and your goal weight and every decision you make has to be about what makes you happy. If you are comfortable where you are then stay where you are but continue to live the healthy lifestyle that you've created. It's all about how you feel and what's going to be the best for you. You've done such a great job!

    Like

  2. Good Day Erin, Congrats on being “overweight”. I can't wait until I get there……

    I know you get lots of these, but I've listed you on my site for an Award as you are an inspiration to so many people.
    Have fun with it!

    Like

  3. congratulations!! Even if you haven't been trying as hard the last few months as you were at first, you're still losing weight. And “continuing to lose weight” or “continuing to become healthier” are just as good as goal as whatever arbitrary number on a scale that you choose. Or it seems that way to me, anyway!!

    Misty and I were just talking about you last night, how you looked good before and you look even better now!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

