This and That

Yesterday I mentioned that I was cutting back on the sprinting I was going to do so I wouldn’t risk getting injured, and then today what happens?  I pulled a muscle or something in my thigh while sprinting.  I’m not sure exactly what I did, but I felt a twinge, and then pain, so I stopped sprinting and walked a bit.  The pain was still there but not as bad, so I tried sprinting again but only lasted about three seconds.  I ended up walking the rest of the time, so I still got a workout though not what I had planned, and my thigh still hurts.  I guess I need to be more careful.  I wonder if sprinting on the treadmill would be safer, though I’m not sure why I think that.  Any thoughts? 

Jenny asked in the comments of yesterday’s post if I had a rest day planned for this week, and in fact I don’t.  However, I feel like yesterday was pretty much a rest day since I did not wake up early to workout and saved my strength training routine for the evening while I was watching TV.  On the days that I have planned to do strength training, I will only have about 20-30 minutes of activity, so that is why I don’t feel like I need a designated rest day this week.  Plus, I wanted to try and get in four days of cardio without having to do cardio and strength training on the same day.  I know a lot of people do both in one day, but that has never worked out well for me  Until I feel I have a solid routine in place, I am going to keep them separate. 

The good news is that the 1.6 pounds I seemingly gained over the week were gone this morning and I was back down to 183.4. 🙂  I cannot WAIT to be in the 170s; I’ve been in the 180s since early June!  With Thanksgiving and Christmas around the corner, however, it will be a challenge.  I think I lost a little early in December last year but had gained it back by the time the new year rolled around, but this year I am determined to end the year on a high note by seeing a new low on the scale, even if it’s just one pound less!  I haven’t quite figured out my plan of attack just yet, so I am open to any suggestions you have for fighting the holiday food onslaught!

How do you plan to beat the holidays?

8 thoughts on “This and That

  1. The holidays are definitely a weakness time for me, food-wise, and I usually end up giving in instead of eating wisely.

    I'm really trying to make better eating choices, though, because my clothes have gotten so tight lately…and honestly, I can't afford to buy new clothes so I have to lose this weight so I can continue to fit in what I already own. :/

    What I've been doing, in general, is trying to eat more frequent, but smaller, meals throughout the day. I notice that I overeat the most when I skip breakfast or something like that. So I'm trying to eat something small for breakfast, even when I'm NEVER hungry for breakfast and I somewhat hate breakfast. (Breakfast food is delicious, don't get me wrong…I just hate eating first thing in the morning.) Another thing is that I've been trying to eat ONLY when I'm hungry (a big issue for me) and STOP when I'm full. I also try to curb hunger by drinking lots, since supposedly what we think is hunger is often just thirst…so I've been testing that by drinking when I'm “hungry.”

    Another thing is that I've refused to buy anything tempting, or ingredients that can be mixed together to become something tempting…I've tried to buy no sweets, no Cokes (I love Coke, so this is big), and that sort of thing…so when I'm hungry, I HAVE to reach for something healthier because that's all there is. It can make me grumpy, though, when I really want a cookie or just something a little bit sweet and there is NOTHING in the house…but I've tried to get over that by offering my sweet tooth other nice things, like smoothies.

    I buy a smoothie mix online from Jet Smoothies that is AMAZINGLY healthy and easy to make. It's made from fruit puree and tea, and is fat-free, preservative-free, and dairy-free…amazing!!! It's kind of expensive, though ($12.50 for one bottle), but it's so worth it! I discovered this because it's the same smoothie they used at work and I became addicted to it…anyway, if you're interested, the link to buy it is: http://www.everythingcoffee-tea.com/index.php?cPath=92_72
    All you do is blend the smoothie puree with ice in a blender (fill a cup with ice and then fill the cup with smoothie puree to JUST BELOW the ice) and it tastes amazing and is the healthiest smoothie out there. We sold them at the coffee shop for $3.99 each, but I figured out the price when you buy it from the website is a little over $1 each. A little bit pricey for a homemade smoothie, but trust me, they're sooo good and they come in so many flavors. My favorites are strawberry and peach.

    Okay, this has been an extremely long comment and sales pitch!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Over the holidays, I take a small portion of everything and eat slow, that way I am satisfied and don't feel like I'm missing out. We usually have apple pie and pumpkin pie…so I take a sliver of both instead of two pieces! What you have to be cautious of is all the left-overs…don't let the host pawn any off on you!!! You culd also convince a few family members to go for a walk feasting.

    Like

  3. i work out extra and eat extra healthy before the holidays in case i go crazy during the holidays. also, i don't totally deny myself desserts (since that would also cause me to go crazy and eat even more dessert), but i have a little slice of my favorite whatever. its hard when i go home though, since my family is like “EAT EAT, you're thin as bones, EAT EAT!” like jewish ladies in movies, haha.

    Like

  4. bah…humbug…that's what i'm thinking about trying to be good this holiday season! but really, i desperately want to do better (does it say something that i typed “butter” instead of “better” the first time?? i think so) but the stupid foot pain is discouraging me so much!

    and thanks so much for that book recommendation–i was actually looking for some books on dealing w/pain f/m a christian perspective today and i will definitely pick it up!!

    Like

  5. its actually not much of a secret recipe, haha! i just buy pork roast and cook it in a crockpot all day with a bottle of Corky's BBQ sauce. its Amazingly delicious, and so easy!

    Like

  6. Nice job on the weight loss! and I hope your leg feels better! This is my first set of holidays since starting my journey and I'm kind of nervous but I think I'm going to just try to remember how far I've come and constantly remind myself that it's just not worth it. I feel great and I won't allow food to take that away from me. I hope your holidays are successful!!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

