It’s Time for Reader Participation!

Well friends, I have to be honest with you: I am kind of struggling with this blog. I’ve been feeling guilty about not posting very often and stressing about what I am going to write next and then thinking that what I do write is boring or lame, and it occurred to me that getting worked up about something that is supposed to be a fun hobby is rather ridiculous. Wouldn’t you agree? I think part of the problem is that I have become a weight loss blogger, which is fine, but I used to write about a lot of different things, most of them random and disconnected, and I wonder if the narrower focus of my blog now is part of my problem. Or maybe after almost 5 years of blogging, I’m losing interest.  However, I still love reading everyone else’s blogs!

In the hopes of reviving my blog a bit, I thought it would be fun if I let my readers help me decide what to write about, so here’s your assignment: leave me a comment and ask me a question (or two or three) about anything you would like me to answer! You could also make suggestions about posts I should write, whether or not they are related to weight loss.  And of course if I use your question/suggestion, I will give you lots of link love.  🙂

12 thoughts on “It’s Time for Reader Participation!

  1. I enjoy reading your weight loss trials and tribulations cause I can relate. I like how you infuse a little spirituality i your blogs as well. I think you should write what you feel. If you feel like writing about losing weight, than do it. i was struggling with the direction of my blog too because it seemed like at one point there were lots of people stopping by commenting and helping, but then the traffic slowed down.

    BUT the key thing I had to remember, #1…I am writing this blog for me to help manage my feelings, and if I help or motivate someone on the way, that make me feel all warm and fuzzy! So I guess you should focus on why you really started writing the blog initially.

    Like

  2. i agree–this blog is for You and sorting out your thoughts, don't worry if its boring (and its Definitely not, you are in my top 3 favorite blogs!!)

    here's some questions for you–

    where do you see yourself in ten years?

    what is one of the most difficult times you've had in your life, and how did you get through it?

    what are some things you've improved on in the past five years, and what are some things you're still working on?

    i hope that helps! your blog is Always interesting (and inspiring!) so please don't stop writing!!

    Like

  3. The day you need to walk away from your blog is when it stops being about writing for the love of writing and turns into something you feel you have to do.

    I believe that with every ounce of my being.

    I say write about what is on your mind. Thoughts on things in the news. Thoughts on things you are going through spiritually. Highs. Lows. Struggles. Triumphs.

    The best blogs have no theme. They are the ones where the person has pulled back the curtain and is allowing you to see that they are as screwed up as the next person.

    Like

  4. I agree with everyone else…I love your blog! I read it religiously even though I don't always comment…sometimes I feel like I don't have anything interesting or inspiring enough to add to the conversation. :/ But I do always enjoy reading your posts…even if they're not about healthy living/weight loss. I've loved reading your stories about marriage and your wedding and day-to-day life as well.

    Okay, I have tons of questions! Feel free to pick and choose which ones you don't want to answer if you feel that some are too personal…and please forgive me if they are!

    1. How did you and your husband meet? When did you know he was “the one”? Basically, I'm interested in hearing your guys' entire story since I don't much about it. 🙂

    2. Do you and your husband want to have a family?

    3. What is your ultimate dream job?

    4. How do you keep your spiritual life fresh? What devotionals/books would you recommend, specifically for women, if any?

    5. Who are your top 3 best friends and how did you meet them?

    I'm sorry for the randomness of these questions! As I said, feel free to ignore any/all of them if you like. I won't be offended. 🙂 I love your blog and I hope you keep blogging for a long time!

    Like

  5. so true, blogging on a regular basis is way harder than it looks! Continue to let this be a place for you, to be used as you wish.

    You've got a lot of questions to answer but I'll add some more!

    1)how have you dealt with the emotional effects of losing weight? Do you see yourself at the weight you really are?

    2)Are you at your goal weight? What was your goal when you first started versus where you are now?

    3)What is the 2 or 3 hardest things about losing weight?

    Like

  6. you know i love your blog–and i love how you keep all the real life stuff in here. fully “themed” blogs aren't nearly as interesting as those that really give you a glimpse into the writer.

    a few questions…

    how did you decide to go to Union, what did you major in, and why?

    How has that shaped your life so far?

    What do you feel has been the most influential thing/moment/person/whatever in shaping you into who you are today?

    Tell a funny/emberassing story.

    Like

  7. Um, a funny story from childhood?
    How you got your name?
    What animal you would be if you weren't human of course?
    I'm no good at those things, but don't stress. Write when the mood strikes you and don't when you don't feel like it! It should be fun!

    Like

  8. I think you should blog about anything you want. Since your weight loss is about your WHOLE life becoming better, then you should write about your WHOLE life.
    Questions:

    What are your top 3 favorite healthy meals w/ recipies, please

    How do you cope with the muchies?

    How has your journey towards being healthy effected your marriage? your relationship with friends? family?

    What moments make you think, “Yes, this is all worth it!”?

    ~ L

    Like

  9. I stay updated on your blog through Google Reader. I don't always comment, but I am always reading!

    I recently had to re-evaluate why I was keeping my blog. I've been at it for 5 years now–and recently a lot of my regular commenters moved to other blog sites. I felt like I had suddenly got boring. I have a lot of readers that don't even comment, especially aunts, grandmas, cousins, etc.

    Anyway, I had to realize that I do enjoy blogging as an outlet and a hobby, regardless of how many people comment.

    Enough about me though, lets hear about you.

    1. Do you have a dog? I think I remember you posting something about one a while back. I'd like to hear more stories about your dog and see more pictures of it too!

    2. I'd like to know more about how you and your hubby balance time together/work/time alone/household chores etc.

    3. Do you ever do creative writing? short stores? poems? It seems like you would be the kind of person who would, and if you do, sharing it here with us would be lovely! 🙂

    4. Do you have any crazy stories to tell about being a teacher?

    5. Why did you decide to become an English teacher? (besides of course your life long mission to extinguish the use of “alot”)

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

