Thankful

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

On Sunday my pastor preached on this passage, and I was deeply convicted.  I tend to be a complainer, one who sees the worst in things, but such a disposition is not honoring to Christ, nor is it even pleasant to be around.  No one wants to be around a person who constantly finds something to complain about.  The admonitions in these verses are not optional but are commands Christians are to follow, yet how often I neglect prayer or allow difficult circumstances to overshadow my faith in Jesus!  What I must constantly remind myself is that Christ wants us first and foremost to be holy and not happy, and therefore no matter my circumstances, no matter the trials I face, I need to be mindful that “these light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all” (see 2 Corinthians 4:16-18).  Furthermore, as the pastor reminded us, we are always trying to figure out what God’s will is, and this verse explicitly tells us! 

This week, not only because it is Thanksgiving but because I am challenged by these verses, I am going to try not to complain or grumble, but instead I will attempt to be joyful, prayerful, and thankful.  If we all did this, how much better would our world be?

 

8 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. That is a great lesson for all of us regardless of religious beliefs. I'm really working on living in the moment and by being thankful and humble for each minute that ticks by, I think it will help me to stay more positive too. Thanks for passing that along!

    Like

  2. Wise words. I made it a goal several years ago to find the good in things, to not complain and te be thankful for what I have. I am utterly convinced that Thankfulness is the glue that holds the virtues together. For example – you can't be prideful and thankful, greedy and thankful, depressed and thankful, unkind and thankful. It's amazing how wonderful you life because by just seeking the good. Amazing, I tell you! Thank you for the reminder! ~ L

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

