There’s No Title to Make the Contents of This Post Seem Cohesive

I did my final weigh-in for November yesterday, and the scale read 185.6, which means I gained 1.4 pounds over the month, despite seeing a new low of 182.6 earlier in the month. OUCH. I wasn’t terribly surprised, however, since I did not track my eating while out of town, nor was I especially wise in my choices. I enjoyed myself thoroughly, however, and though my choices weren’t always the best, I was mindful of everything I was eating instead of just pigging out and then coming out of a food coma later and wondering what happened. So even though I gained 3 pounds, I honestly don’t feel that badly about it. I’m owning up to it and moving on. I am hopeful that I can shake the pounds soon and end the year on a high note.

Now, onto another reader question! Sarah E asked, “How did you decide to go to Union, what did you major in, and why?”

When I was in the eighth grade, a group of college students came to my church and did a Disciple Now weekend, which was basically Bible studies held in different homes. The girls who led my group were amazing, and I soaked up everything they said. They went to Union, and they talked about how they loved it there, and I just knew I was going to go there when I went to college. Fast forward to junior year, and I was getting ready to apply for college. I looked at other colleges and got invited to apply at a few of them, but I still had Union on the brain. I visited the campus and fell in love with it. In the fall of my senior year I submitted my one and only college application–to Union. I knew I was supposed to go there, and even though admission to Union carried with it a hefty tuition fee, I trusted that God would provide. I scored high enough on my ACT to apply for the highest scholarship offered by the university (tuition plus room and board), and I wrote my essay and went to an interview and waited anxiously to see what would happen. I was offered a full tuition scholarship, which eliminated most of the financial burden! I was so excited and couldn’t wait to graduate.

My time at Union was even better than I could have imagined. Though I was lonely and scared at first, I soon found a group of friends with whom I could be myself, and we made so many good memories. I was challenged in my walk with Christ through the chapel services and on-campus Bible studies and conferences, and because of Union, I was able to travel overseas to Thailand and Kenya on mission trips. If I hadn’t gone to Union, I wouldn’t have met three of the women who later were bridesmaids in my wedding–Emily, Marya, and Erin. Most of all, I wouldn’t have met my husband Stephen! Union will always hold a special place in my heart, and I am so grateful to have had such an amazing college experience!

As for how I decided on my major, I came into Union as an elementary education major but soon realized that while I enjoy little kids, I wanted my students to be able to tie their shoes and act somewhat mature, so I switched to an English major with a secondary education minor. I loved all of my English classes in high school and thought it would be great to have a major that focused on reading and writing. I took a ton of great English classes and loved my professors. At the end of my junior year I decided that I didn’t want to teach high school, so I dropped my secondary ed minor (with only 2 classes and student teaching left to take) and changed to an incredibly generic minor called human studies, which is a conglomeration of several disciplines. I only lacked one class to fulfill the requirement. It was an easy way out of student teaching, basically. I regret not following through with it now, but I am still not sure I would be a good high school English teacher. I would have a hard time with classroom discipline.

So there’s my long-winded response to your question, Sarah! I’m going to have to figure out how to shorten these answers so I can cover more than one question per post. 🙂

Now it’s your turn: What did you major in during college, and do you use your major today?

7 thoughts on “There’s No Title to Make the Contents of This Post Seem Cohesive

  1. I majored in English literature, and no, I'm not using it today. I'm about to have a baby in 10 weeks or so, and have decided to be a stay at home mom (which I am really, really excited about). I have actually become really passionate about nutrition since finishing college, and hope to go back to school to study that someday. In the meantime, I do enjoy reading, but I read a lot more nonfiction than novels these days.

    Like

  2. i too majored in English at union! i'd always wanted to be a writer, so i went straight to the english with a creative writing emphasis major. i actually didn't want to have a minor at all–i would've preferred English with a side of More English, but that wasn't possible, so i minored in PR/Advertising (it was eh). even though i don't really make any Money off my degree, i write all the time, so i think i still use it =)

    Like

  3. Not a bad gain for the month. You sound like you got things pretty much under control and good luck on the rest of the year. I too want to see some pounds drop before 2010.

    I enjoyed reading about your college experience. Due to some bad choices, I attended college later in life. I graduated in 2006 with a Bachelors in Sociology. The following year I decided to enroll into a Alternative Teacher Certification program and now I teach a Special Education Kindergarten class. This is my second year teaching and I am still trying to see if teaching is for me. So far, so good.

    I am currently working on my Masters in Educational Leadership.

    Like

  4. Yay–thanks for picking my question! Union was the only college I considered other than Western, but WKU gave me a scholarship and Union didn't so to WKU I went.

    I'm not officially using my Religious Studies degree for my career, but I feel like it is useful in the rest of my life. I love that I did so much with theology and religious history, as well as my comparative religion classes…and though it was hard, I think I'm glad that I wasn't taught everything from a Christian perspective b/c it helped me really make my faith my own. My Philosophy minor was useless though… I also learned some great writing skills, and just general help with understanding and dealing with people.

    It sounds like I would have loved human studies…

    Like

  5. Good for you for being so positive. Keep at it, you are still doing great!

    I have 3 degrees all in Audiology. So after 8 years of school, I am only qualified to do one thing!! Good thing I love it 🙂

    Like

  6. I majored in dental hygienie.I worked as a hygienist for years and then went into sales. Last year, I lost my job in sales and now I am going tomorrow to take the boards (exam) to be licensed as a hygienist in the state I am currently living. So hopefully I'll pass and hopefully I will be working as a hygienist again!! Thanks for your great blog. Love the inspiration and postiveness!!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

