Friday Five: Christmas Movies

I absolutely love the Christmas season, and there are some movies that I try and watch every year around this time.  Here are my favorites:

1.  White Christmas.  This is such a classic and full of wonderful music, and the dancing is so fun!  I never get tired of it.  I love the scene when Rosemary Clooney sings “Love, You Didn't Do Right By Me” and is wearing that fantastic black dress. 

2.  A Christmas Story.  The fact that I love this movie drives my family crazy because I always want to watch the marathon of it on Christmas day.  I think it is just hysterical, especially the scene where they eat Christmas dinner at the Chinese restaurant. 

3.  Meet Me in St. Louis.  Another classic musical.  I don't know that this is actually considered a Christmas movie, but for me it is.  I love Judy Garland in it, and the character of Tootie is adorable. 

4.  Elf.  A modern-day classic, full of quotable lines.  “I like smiling.  Smiling's my favorite.”

5.  It's a Wonderful Life.  Can you have a list of Christmas movies without including this one?  I don't think so! 

What are your favorite Christmas movies? 

11 thoughts on “Friday Five: Christmas Movies

  1. My top five has two of your favorites. 😀

    “It's a Wonderful Life”
    “Elf”
    “Edward Scissorhands” (not necessarily a Christmas movie by most people's standards, but I always watch it at Christmas)
    “Home Alone 1 & 2” (only the ones with Macaulay Culkin)
    “Little Women” (with Winona Ryder =))

    Like

  2. Gina, “Holiday Inn” is a great one!

    Heather, I was *this* close to putting “Little Women” on my list as well, but I figured it wasn't technically a Christmas movie, so I didn't. Still, I love watching it at Christmas!

    Like

  3. White Christmas is my #1, then probably Charlie Brown's Christmas and I also love to watch Meet Me in St. Louis (I think we consider it a Christmas movie b/c the song “Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas” was actually written for this movie (and the original lyrics were super depressing!!)

    hubs & I had a date to watch White Christmas while putting up our tree this year 🙂

    Like

  4. 1. Sleepless in Seattle…always always watch this at least 2 or 3 times this time of year. And once every month after that.:)
    2. Little Women…I agree that it is a Christmas movie…I love the scene on Christmas morning when Amy is so excited about the orange…oh for the simple things.:)
    3. Miracle on 34th Street…the new one…I know I know. She is just so darn cute.
    4. The Family Stone…I know they are totally dysfunctional but I love them for it.
    5. I know this isn't really Christmas at all(except for like two scenes) but I always watch You've Got Mail as well.
    6. I also love Elf…but not enough for it to boot the others out of Top 5.:)

    Like

  5. Top Five:

    ~ A Christmas Carol (with George C. Scott
    ~ A Muppet Christmas Carol
    ~ How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Jim Cary version)
    ~ A Christmas Story (be sure to drink your Ovaltine!)
    ~ The Best Christmas Pagent Ever (One of the best ever made, imho)

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

