This Post Brought to You by the Letter R for Random

I know this will sadden all of my readers greatly, but today’s post will be the last of the reader questions. I’ve taken long enough to answer these, right? Most of the ones I’m answering today are ones that I can answer quickly, so I thought I’d try and cover a bunch of them. Consider it an online survey made by you and answered by me!

From Mary, an excellent weight loss/health blogger:
What is your favorite hobby (um, besides blogging)?

This is rather sad, but I don’t know! I used to be an avid reader but now struggle with finding time to read, so the most I read is during my lunch break at work. I also used to play the guitar, and I am thinking about trying to learn how to play again.

If you could go anywhere in the world, right now, where would you go? Italy, all of it, but especially Florence and Venice. I have wanted to go to Italy for years and years. Someday I will get there. (Right, Stephen?) 🙂

From Renee, a lovely poet whose first chapbook is coming out soon:
Where do you see yourself in ten years?
It is hard to imagine myself in 10 years, but I will be 38 (eek!), and I hope to have one or two children by then if the Lord wills. I hope to be at home with them, happily managing our household. I want to be as madly in love with Stephen as I am right now (or more so), I want to be pursuing the Lord wholeheartedly, and I want to be in service to the church in whatever ways I can.

What are some things you’ve improved on in the past five years, and what are some things you’re still working on? I think I’ve become less of a perfectionist, which is a HUGE victory. I also have become more flexible, more confident, and less affected by unkind words. On the flip side, I am still far too concerned with what other people think, and I am still a very fearful and anxious person most of the time, and I know each of these things hinders my walk with Christ.

From Heather, another lovely writer:

What is your ultimate dream job?
To have children and stay at home with them. If we’re talking outside the realm of probability, I’d love to work with dolphins. Or be a famous singer or writer.

How do you keep your spiritual life fresh? What devotionals/books would you recommend, specifically for women, if any? That’s a good question. I find that it helps me to have a reading plan of sorts, to give focus to my devotional time. For example, I just finished reading what I call the General Electric Power Company (aka, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, and Colossians). I now have moved on to the minor prophets. I also like plans that take you through the Bible in one year. I haven’t actually read any devotionals directed toward women, but I love My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers. I also love this really wonderful little book called Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss. It’s comprised of journal entries that are a glimpse into the heart of a woman trying to follow God. I highly recommend it.

From Sarah E.:
Tell a funny/embarrassing story.
When I was in middle school, I decided to run for student council vice president. To this day I really don’t know why I thought I had any chance of winning, but I was very gung-ho about it. Each candidate had to give speeches to each grade at different assemblies, and when it came time for me to give my speech to my grade, I completely froze, forgot I had notecards in front of me with ALL THE WORDS ON THEM, and rambled for a bit before bursting into tears and sitting down. Needless to say, I didn’t win the election. 🙂

From Lauren, a true bibliophile:
How do you cope with the munchies?
I munch. Just kidding! (Well, most of the time.) I try to keep myself busy. I will chew gum or drink water, and if I am at home, I avoid the kitchen when at all possible. At work it’s not as hard because there’s no vending machine (praise the Lord), and I just bring one snack to work with me every day. If it’s at night and past my self-imposed curfew of 8 p.m., I try to ONLY eat if I am really hungry, and then I limit my selection to fruit. Brushing my teeth also helps a lot.

How has your journey towards being healthy effected your marriage? your relationship with friends? family? This is a really good question. I think my marriage has been improved in that I have been able to see just how supportive and awesome Stephen is. He has been my biggest cheerleader and source of strength during the whole process, and without him I don’t even know if I would have begun trying to lose weight. I was fine just talking about it until he asked, “How will you change it?” I don’t feel that my relationships with friends or family have been affected to much, besides the fact that they too have been so supportive and encouraging.

From Macy, who shares my love of all things purple:
Do you ever do creative writing? short stores? poems? It seems like you would be the kind of person who would, and if you do, sharing it here with us would be lovely! 🙂

I started writing when I was in the fourth grade and have always enjoyed it. (Back then, my favorite poem that I wrote began with, “Colors, colors everywhere, / A little here, a little there.” Even then my genius was evident.) Although the only writing I have done in the past few years has been on this blog, I have always enjoyed writing and admired other people’s writing endeavors. In college I primarily wrote poetry, though I also dabbled in creative nonfiction and short fiction. I have stopped and started a novel at least 5 times. Maybe next year I will participate in NaNoWriMo and actually finish a novel. If you go through the blog archives, you can find some of the poems I posted on here. They’re mediocre at best.

So that’s it! I hope you feel as though you know me a little better. Thanks to all of you who asked questions and thanks to all of you who read my blog. I really appreciate it!

6 thoughts on “This Post Brought to You by the Letter R for Random

  1. I truly enjoyed this post. =) And I'm definitely going to check out “Stepping Heavenward” by Elizabeth Prentiss…on my way to amazon now! 🙂 It sounds like exactly the kind of thing I've been looking for…thank you so much for the recommendation!

    I am also honored to be referred to as a lovely writer. =) You are very sweet & kind, Erin!

    Like

  2. Oh and in answer to your question on my blog, I'm only freelance-writing for one site right now, but I hope to add to that number in the coming year by submitting applications to new websites & possibly developing a themed blog that takes advantage of targeted advertising from an application like Google Adsense…

    The site I use now is http://www.suite101.com, but there are other sites that I've applied to and haven't gotten around to writing articles for, like Demand Studios, which does a lot of stuff for eHow.com. Suite 101 was really easy for me to figure out, so I got addicted to it before I explored much else…there are probably far better sites to be writing for, in regard to payment, but supposedly after they've been there a while, most writers can make at least a few hundred dollars there a month. One writer supposedly made $4,000 in a month (she's their big selling point obviously) but I'm not expecting anything like that…for one thing, I can't write fast enough to generate that much a month. But, it's be great to have a few hundred extra a month, maybe enough to pay our student loans and live a little more worry-free. =) I'm not to that point yet but if I start making tons freelancing, I'll let people know. =)

    Like

  3. bryan and i want to go to Italy too! its our dream vacation =)

    and i'm a perfectionist too, and its hard sometimes because i think perfectionists tend to beat themselves up when they aren't “perfect”

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

