I Am Determined

Back in July I wrote about a stack of clothes I received from a friend who had lost 40 pounds and could no longer wear the clothes. They are all size 14s, and I was hoping I would be able to wear them by the time fall arrived. Well, fall came and went, and those clothes are still in the closet. I tried on a pair of the pants the other day, however, and I can button and zip them comfortably, but they are still a bit snug in the thigh region. I don’t want all of these fabulous pants to go to waste and just take up space in the closet; I want to wear them and wear them proudly! And one thing I know for sure: I will NOT get into those pants by stuffing my face on Christmas and New Year’s.

I have but one goal for this next week: not to weigh more next week than I weigh this week. How do I plan to accomplish this? I am going to exercise, I am going to track everything I eat, and I am NOT going to stuff myself while at my parents’ house this weekend. I am going to enjoy the time with my family and not make it all about the food. Will I have a few treats? Yes. Will I enjoy them? Yes. Will I eat to the point where I feel as though I am going to burst? NO. I am determined to end the year feeling triumphant and not guilty. I am sick of losing weight one week and maintaining or gaining the next week (although I will definitely take maintenance over a gain). I need to get off the weight loss roller coaster and onto a stable path.

Stay tuned next Monday for a report on the holiday weekend.

3 thoughts on “I Am Determined

  1. Erin, thanks for this reminder…I'm definitely going to need to remember this while we're visiting family in Memphis this week. :/

    That being said, I just wanted to say that I think it's awesome you do hand-me-arounds with your friends. =) I have a couple of friends I exchange clothes with every so often and it's SO much more cost-efficient (not to mention eco-friendly…re-using instead of always buying new). Hand-me-downs are totally not just for kids. 🙂

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

