When to Workout

Ever since starting my weight loss journey, I have preferred morning workouts. I am not by nature a morning person, but I really like starting my day with exercise because I am more likely to get it done that way and I feel energized for the day. However, I’m now in a bit of a pickle. I workout at a college gym, and since right now is Christmas break, the hours of the gym have been reduced quite a bit, and they are no longer opening at 6 a.m. like they normally do. I have been going there more frequently recently, but now that the hours are all messed up for me, I had to think about what I wanted to do. I decided to do a trial period of working out after work. I also thought this would be beneficial for my devotional time, so I decided to wake up at 6:02 a.m., but instead of working out, I would read the Bible and pray, and then when I got off work, I would either go to the gym or workout at home. The first day of trying this, I woke up as usual and enjoyed the time in the morning before going to work.

What I didn’t like was the time after work. I drove straight from work to the gym, changed out of my work clothes (almost losing my wedding rings in the process–I need to get them resized), and started my workout. I got in a good workout, but by the time I got home it was close to 6:30 and we hadn’t even eaten dinner yet. Everything is pushed back if I keep this schedule, and I’m just not sure about it. For one thing, I am REALLY hungry for dinner by the time 5 p.m. rolls around, so waiting almost two hours later than that will be tricky. I guess I could eat a snack later in the afternoon to help tide me over. I don’t like eating so late because then it feels like a good chunk of the evening is already gone. I also am bound to forget my gym bag one of these days, knowing my scatterbrained nature. So the long and short of it is: I like having my Bible study time in the morning, but I hate working out in the evening. I don’t really relish the idea of getting up much earlier than 5:45 (which is the time I used to get up to go to the gym), but maybe I should consider that as well.  For now I’m still doing the evening workout, but I don’t know if I will continue or not after the new year begins.

Are there any evening exercisers out there who have any advice for me?  Am I just being whiny?  (Wait, don’t answer that…)

 

9 thoughts on “When to Workout

  1. hhhmmm…this does seem to be a tricky situation. What if…just hear me out here, what if you used this break as an actual forced break for yourself from the gym? Not to go cold turkey but to take a break on going as frequently as you have been and maybe just go 2 or 3 times a week. And then those times, you can go when its open but at least it won't be you trying to fit in your normal amount. Just a though…

    Like

  2. What about going home and having dinner and normal activities and working out a little later? I have to work out right after work. I am not a morning person at all!

    Like

  3. I'm an evening exerciser and don't even get off work until 5:30. But if you shift your lunch and a snack a bit later, it's not bad eating dinner around 7. I usually have lunch around 1 then a good snack an hour before I work out. Good job still getting up for your devos! I always try to do that but then fall back asleep while praying… 😦

    Like

  4. No you're not being whiny. I work out in the evening and I face the same problems. I am ravenous by 3:00 PM because I eat breakfast at 10:15 sooooooo, I started thinking long and hard about my afternoon snacks. For the last couple of weeks I started making smoothies in the morn for the afternoon. Other snacks: 1/2 of a sandwich, hard boiled eggs and fruit.

    As far as dinner is concerned (when I have time, I cook two or three meals at a time. That way we I come home I just have to heat up something for me and the boys. Meals that reheat well: spaghetti, chili, soups, jambalaya, pasta and a protein, or we have sandwiches.

    I have also designated a frozen dinner night where everyone chooses their favorite Lean Cuisine or Smart One. Also, we have one go-out-to eat night too.

    Like

  5. Merry Christmas to you, too! I hope you and Stephen have an awesome celebration!

    Finding a great time to work out is tough…I can totally understand why working out in the morning would be a better choice. What about your lunch break? Do you have enough time on your lunch break to work out? If you have an hour and work close to a gym, that might be an interesting idea…?

    Like

  6. This is tricky, but it is just for two weeks right? If so, then perhaps you can just work out at the gym 3 times a week after work, and then do a DVD in the mornings at home?

    I'm a morning girl myself though, so I understand your frustration.

    Like

  7. i am not a morning anything person–when i work out i do it in the evenings–i have a gazelle machine and keep my weights, stability ball, mat, and reistance bands in our tv room and i watch my favorite shows while exercising. if i leave the machine set out then i am always reminded to use it and i usually exercise after eating dinner.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

