Back to Life, Back to Reality

Hello, blog world!  I hope all of you had a Merry Christmas and got to spend time with friends and family.  I had a great Christmas weekend, and I was sad to see it go.  I love spending time with my family, and of course it’s also wonderful to have a little break from work.  At least this week will be a four-day workweek as well!

Now for my progress report:

1. I ate fairly well but not great.  I went way over my calorie limit on Christmas Day, I’m sure, though I do not know the exact amount due to the difficulty of tracking a lot of the stuff we ate (including a yummy dinner at a Japanese steakhouse).  What helped me somewhat is the fact that I have been experiencing jaw pain, and so I have limited my intake to soft foods.  Therefore I bypassed some foods I normally would have eaten with wild abandon (I’m talking about you, Rotel dip and chips).  Of course, what didn’t help me is that pie counts as a soft food.  🙂

2. I was mindful of what I was eating.  I think I did a good job of being aware of everything I ate and not just shoveling it in and then regretting it later.

3. I exercised on Christmas Eve and the day after Christmas.  I also had planned to exercise on Sunday, but the treadmill at my parents’ house was acting wonky, and I felt as though I was going to trip and fall off of it.  Had I brought some warmer workout clothes, I could have gone outside, so that was poor planning on my part.

4. I weighed 182.6 on Thursday (Christmas Eve), and this morning I weighed 183.4.  Even though I gained weight, I am not that upset about a gain of .8 pounds, especially when I know they probably will be gone in a few days.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and feel good about the choices I made.  Now it’s back to business as usual, which means quality time on the dreadmill tonight because it is just too cold and windy outside.  Fortunately, I have new running shoes to try out (I will write more about that tomorrow) and new tunes on my iPod (Jason Mraz’s newest live CD), so I think I can make it through!

How was your Christmas?  Where did you go/who did you see?

 

9 thoughts on “Back to Life, Back to Reality

  1. Merry Late Christmas, E!! Be very proud of yourself! I usually try not to eat things that I don't have the packaging/nutritional contents of and thats SUPER hard at x-mas when you're talking about 10 million “already made” dishes. A family member of mine made a crock pot of little smokies and I ate a few (not many- just a few) but the next day looked it up online and almost cried.:)I also made baked mac and cheese with fat-free cheese, but then I ate 3/4 of it. Opps. :)Tomorrow is another day!

    I also got LOTS of yoga stuff and an ab thingy!!

    Like

  2. I wish I had a .8 gain! One of the “problems” of being part of an interfaith household is that there are copious opportunities for me to celebrate with my family – and I do! Between Hanukkah and Christmas – and now with new years around the corner – I will be happy to maintain my weight at 3 pounds more than I was two weeks ago.

    Like

  3. good for you! i am afraid to step on the scale…i think i will have nightmares about it…BUT i got a bender ball at target today w/one of my gift cards and am excited about it! i have been wanting one for over a year but can't make myself order from the tv. here's to a new year!

    Like

  4. We went to see my in-laws for Christmas in Memphis, Tennessee. We had fun and I'm like you, I love Christmas. It's my favorite holiday. 😀 But it's kind of nice not to be on pause from life anymore. I feel like I've been saying “after Christmas” to way too much stuff, and so, now my to-do list is crazily long. 😦 But, it was worth it to be able to relax and enjoy the holiday!

    Like

  5. Thanks for the comment on my blog!! Yes, I feel as if I am going to BURST!!

    Are you still using Spark or mostly posting here? I need to check back more often!

    Glad to see you are doing well sweetie!

    Jen

    Like

  6. bryan and i spent the week with family and now we're settling back into normal-life again–it feels like we've been gone from that Forever, since the weeks before christmas were moving-life. bryan and i worked out a new incentive program for each other to help us work out more this year (it involved having a spending allowance, haha), so i'm hoping that we'll be a little healthier in 2010.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

