2010 Goals

I made a rather long list of goals for 2009, and I don’t think I did very well meeting them. Looking back, part of the problem was that I made yearly goals, but then I also ended up setting goals for every month. I focused primarily on meeting the monthly goals, thus forgetting about the yearly ones. So for 2010, I am going to make a set of goals that will be year-long in scope, but then I will also pick 2-3 goals to focus on each month as well.

Year-long Fitness/Health Goals
:

1. Reach my goal weight of 161 pounds. If nothing else happens in 2010, I want this to happen.

2. Run a 10k. It’s the next logical race for me to attempt, and I know I can run the distance if I stay committed.

3. Run a half marathon. This will more than likely be something I tackle in the fall months after I have built up a more solid running base.

4. Run/walk/bike 800 miles. This is roughly 15 miles a week, which is very doable if I am consistent, and if I am going to run a 10k and half marathon, I shouldn’t have trouble meeting this goal.

5. Log 12,000 fitness minutes. This works out to around 230 minutes a week, which is just a little more than I’m doing right now, so I know I can do it. I accrued over 14,000 minutes this year, but that was largely due to the fact that I had ample time for workouts during the summer when I wasn’t working.

Year-long Personal Goals:

1. Read 20 books (a blend of fiction and nonfiction). I did miserably with book reading in 2009, but I am going to make a concerted effort to read more this coming year.

2. Find a fixed time every day for Bible study and prayer. I am thinking this time for me will be in the evenings after dinner, as I really am not a fan of evening workouts and will more than likely switch to the mornings when the gym resumes its regulars hours next week.

3. Write at least 3 blog posts per week. I wish I could commit to more, but this is a doable number for me right now.

These are all goals that I will have to work towards the whole year, and I will remind myself of them at the beginning of every month.

For January, some additional goals:

1. Complete SparkPeople’s January Bootcamp.

2. Eat at least one vegetable at dinner every night.

3. Find a training plan for a 10k and research different 10k races.

All of these will help me accomplish some of my year-long goals.

What are your goals for the year or the month ahead?

8 thoughts on “2010 Goals

  1. Your goals look manageable. I think a lot of times we set ourselves up for failure by setting unattainable goals or having to many.

    In the past I would set these super high exceptions for myself and then feel like a failure when I didn't meet my own expectations. This year I plan to follow the same plan with a few adjustments. What I did last year worked I just need to implement my plan consistently. Well good luck with your goals.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

