When Life Gives You a Sore Throat, Blog About It

I had big plans for the start of the new year, and so far they haven’t worked out well. I planned to start SparkPeople’s Spark Your Body Bootcamp on Sunday, but I woke up with a very sore throat and some achy muscles. I didn’t go to church and spent pretty much all day in the recliner, wrapped in my Snuggie. Then this morning I got up to do yesterday’s video and today’s (which was only about 18 minutes total), even though I still didn’t feel great. About 2/3 of the way through the cardio video from yesterday, I started feeling dizzy. The feeling didn’t pass for several minutes, at which point I decided my body wasn’t ready for physical activity, and I called it quits. Aside from some strength training on Saturday, I haven’t worked out at all this year! Not a good start. However, I am tracking my food and drinking my water, so not all is lost. I hope to be feeling stronger tomorrow so I can tackle my running and get back on track.

Speaking of running, I have been researching training plans for a 10k, and I had no idea there were so many different options out there! I haven’t picked one yet, but I have narrowed it down to 2 that I am considering. Several of the plans assumed the people using them were already running 15-20 miles a week, which definitely isn’t me, but the ones I’ve narrowed it down to begin more modestly with 2.5 mile runs twice a week and then a longer run on Saturday, which is more manageable for me.

I have also been trying to decide whether or not to use walk/jog intervals (this would involve repeated intervals of running for 3-5 minutes and then walking for 1 minute or so). I know of several runners who utilize this method, and I am thinking it might be good for me to try as well, but I also like the idea of being able to run the entire 10k. However, I haven’t yet completed a 5k race while running the entire thing, so perhaps it’s not realistic for me to expect myself to run the full 6.2 miles. I have run both a 5k and 10k distance in training, but I know races are always different, especially if there is hilly terrain involved, and the last time I ran a 10k distance was in August. What do the more experienced runners out there think?

*If you’re interested in doing the SparkPeople January Bootcamp, it’s not too late to start. Each day of the bootcamp features a short video, with Sunday’s video emphasizing cardio and the other 6 emphasizing strength training different parts of the body. The plan also recommends getting at least 30 minutes of the cardio of your choice 5 times a week. You can join SparkPeople by going to SparkPeople.com (tell them Erin1022 referred you!) or by clicking on the little SparkPeople button my left sidebar. It’s FREE and I highly recommend it. It’s changed my life!

2 thoughts on “When Life Gives You a Sore Throat, Blog About It

  1. REST REST REST!! Don't push yourself too much when you're sick! I hope you feel better very soon b/c I know how miserable it is to be sick, especially when you have such big goals. Kudos to you for still tracking your food though! When I'm sick all I want is creamy cheesy comfort food and I have a hard time saying no to myself!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

