Booky Goodness and a Giveaway

One of my goals for the new year is to read more, and I am proud to report that I have already finished two books! Better yet, I’m even going to give away one of them, so stay tuned!

I kept reading/hearing things about the novel The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and so I decided to use some Christmas money and order the book. I am so glad I did because this book ended up being one of the best books I’ve read in quite some time. It’s an epistolary novel set on Guernsey, part of the Channel Islands, after World War II (I had to look up exactly where the Channel Islands were), and it tells the story of a group of people on Guernsey who began a literary society as a cover from the German soldiers, who occupied the island for most of the war. The letters focus mainly on Juliet, a cheeky, charming British author who learns about the society through one of its members who happens to find a book with Juliet’s name in it and then writes her. Her curiosity is piqued with his first letter, and other letters follow. Soon Juliet finds herself corresponding with several of the society’s members, and she becomes quite attached to them, and they to her. The letters provide fascinating and sometimes heartbreaking glimpses into life during wartime, and I found myself at times brought to laughter and tears while reading their stories. A visit to the island itself is practically inevitable for Juliet, and what she finds there is certainly more than she bargained for. I adored this book and its style, and with the slight caveat that there is some language in it, I highly recommend it.

The other book I read is The Spark, written by Chris Downie, who is the founder and CEO of SparkPeople.com, the weight loss and fitness website that I have mentioned many times on my blog. Part inspirational memoir and part self-help, the book details a very practical and focused 28-day plan for achieving your goals. While the focus of the book is primarily on weight loss, Downie points out that many of the principles can be applied to goals in other areas of life. Although much of the content was a review for me due to my two year experience with the SparkPeople site, it gave me fresh motivation to reach my weight loss goal and reminded me of the fundamentals that are so essential to successful weight loss. This book would no doubt be very helpful for someone who is beginning a weight loss journey or needs new motivation and inspiration, which is why I want to give away my copy!

To be entered in the giveaway, all you have to do is leave a comment telling me why you would like to win the book. That’s it! The contest will end Friday, January 15 at 5:00 p.m. CST. and is open to anyone in the U.S. I will use random.org to draw a winner.

9 thoughts on “Booky Goodness and a Giveaway

  1. i would LOVE this book b/c
    1. I love sparkpeople and it really helps me remember my goals
    2. I always need to remember why I am trying to do this and this would be great motivation
    3. I love reading!

    Like

  2. I would LOVE to win the spark book because I've just started the Sparkpeople weight lost journey of my own and could definitely use the inspiration! With 100+ pounds to lose, I could use a little spark in my step! 🙂

    Thanks for introducing me to sparkpeople!

    Like

  3. I must get the Potato Book – you are, maybe, the 5 or 6 person to say its good.
    I received the Biggest Loser 30-day Challange book for Christmas (per my request) and it's basically the same thing as The Spark book, I think. It's a laid out by day, with a menu, recipies, exercise and a short motivational bit. It's suppose to help you form good habits. I rather liked it, and plan to use some of the menus.
    I don't want the spark book, as I plan to order my own, lol. 😀

    Like

  4. I would love to have this book! As you know I just signed up to spark because you are such an inspiration. I need the visual motivation to gte me “sparked”. Also, there are several girls at the center who could use the motivation as well. I would be able to pass it on to them.
    Stephanie K.

    Like

  5. I would love to win this book! I'm working hard to lose almost 30 lbs by this summer, and I am using SparkPeople to track my caloric intake and activity mileage. Your blog is inspiring!

    Like

  6. Thanks for doing a give away! It's nice of you to spread the spark, rather than keep a good book.

    SP is the website I use to track my calories. It's the one I have found with the most diverse amount of food and least amount of clicks required to actually enter the food. I love their forums and advice, and I would love to see what else I could learn from them.

    Thanks!

    Like

  7. Well, I am very interested in the Spark book…until reading your post, I had not heard about it before! Glad that I have found you blog by the way!
    Looking forward to future posts…you are SO close to your goal! I, on the other hand, not so close…maybe a free spark book would help me????

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

