Goals Check-Up: January

January Starting Weight: 181.0
January Ending Weight: 178.6
LOSS of 2.4 pounds

That’s not stellar, but it’s a loss, and I’ll take it. Now for a report on how I am doing with my goals.

My goals for January:

1. Complete SparkPeople’s January Bootcamp. FAIL. I didn’t even get a chance to start this, as I was sick for the first 11 days of the month. Also, our laptop is on the fritz, and since the bootcamp involves doing SparkPeople videos every day, I need to use the laptop to do so. It just didn’t happen.

2. Eat at least one vegetable at dinner every night. I did this probably 2/3 of the time. Nights when we had breakfast for dinner or ate out were nights where I tended not to eat veggies, but I definitely feel like I’m getting better at this. The problem is that the list of veggies that I like is rather short. I just don’t know how to make stuff I don’t like taste good (unless I drown it in cheese sauce or ranch, which I’m thinking isn’t the wisest idea).

3. Find a training plan for a 10k and research different 10k races. SUCCESS! But while I did find a 10k plan and a race (it’s in May), I have decided that I am going to train for a half marathon! There is one in Jackson on April 17, and I think I can do it. I’ve already started training, and I am just going to keep training and see what happens. I was a little scared to admit this on the blog because I’m kind of afraid I won’t be able to do it, but if I just keep it to myself, then I know it will be WAY easier to back out, so there you go!

Year-long Fitness/Health Goals:

1. Reach my goal weight of 161 pounds. I am 17.6 pounds away from this goal.

2. Run a 10k. It’s the next logical race for me to attempt, and I know I can run the distance if I stay committed. I am hoping I can find a 10k race to run in before my half, but so far I haven’t had any luck. I am still planning to run the one in May if nothing else works out.

3. Run a half marathon. Working on it!

4. Run/walk/bike 800 miles. I only logged a measly 26.5 miles this month, which definitely isn’t on target. I lost a lot of ground by being sick for almost two weeks.

5. Log 12,000 fitness minutes. I logged 670 fitness minutes, which is also well under the number I needed, but I am hoping to gain some ground in February.

Year-long Personal Goals:

1. Read 20 books (a blend of fiction and nonfiction). I read 4 books in January, which I am super proud of because that’s the most I’ve read in a month in quite a while.

2. Find a fixed time every day for Bible study and prayer. This is still a work in progress, but I am at least spending time in prayer and reading the Bible almost every day.

3. Write at least 3 blog posts per week. I did this the whole month of January. Yeah!

There were definitely some things I wish had gone better about this month, especially my mileage and fitness minute goals, but I have all year to get those numbers where they need to be. I am excited to see what February has in store. Stay tuned for my February goals tomorrow!

5 thoughts on “Goals Check-Up: January

  1. Stinks about the laptop, but you can get them preety cheap at wal mart now…I only know this because we had to do that earlier in the month after both of our laptops died within two months. Gag.

    But great about all of your goals and the progress you are making! As lame as this sounds, you inspire me to continually work on my goals 🙂 Thanks Erin!

    Like

  2. It's a great loss, girl. It IS stellar especially given how your year started out with your illness.

    You CAN do a 1/2 marathon! I can't wait to hear about your progress and how your training is going. Are you using any particular training plan? Are you doing run/walk?

    Go girl!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

