Running Update

See this face?

This is the face of a woman who ran 7 miles for the first time in her life yesterday! I am now a huge fan of the run/walk method (I do 5:1 run/walk intervals). I was scared I wouldn’t be able to do it, but Stephen told me that if I couldn’t run 7 miles, that wouldn’t mean I failed as long as I tried. And if I didn’t do it that day, I would do it another day. Isn’t he smart? So I went out there and did it. It was cold, and I was only one of two people at the park, but I made it through. 7 miles in 81:47 (average pace of 11:41/mile). What a great way to start the week!

What are you celebrating today?

10 thoughts on “Running Update

  1. Good for you Erin! I'm averaging about 12 min miles too right now and I feel pleased with that. I run 5/1 interals too, and find they work really well especially on long runs. I can usually run the 5 minutes knowing I have a walk break to look forward to! Hope you aren't too sore today. I'm really sore from the Krispy Kreme Challenge, so I'm just going to walk today. : )

    I'm celebrating the fact that I can still run at 19 weeks pregnant (even though I know that will end probably soon… I'll still walk though.)

    Like

  2. MochaTrina, a 5:1 interval means that I do 5 minutes of running, then 1 minute of walking, and repeat that for the duration of my run. It's a great method, and I highly recommend it!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

