Conflicting Goals?

As I shared recently, I am currently training for a half marathon. I have wanted to run a half marathon for some time but was previously too scared to attempt it. Now, however, I feel more ready to face the challenge, so I’m going for it!

However, what I’ve realized is that this goal may be at odds with another very important goal: losing weight. I have read many posts on SparkPeople from runners who have trained for races, and a lot of times they lost little or no weight while training, or sometimes they even gained weight. Even back in the summer when I wasn’t running long distances, I wrote about the lack of weight loss I experienced, and while I think at that time part of the problem was that I was eating too much because running made me hungrier, I honestly feel like I am now doing a good job of keeping my calories at or below 1600 on most days. And yet the day after my long run, I was up TWO pounds from the day before! Yesterday I was only up .4 pounds from the previous week’s weigh-in, but still, I am not sure what to make of this or what I can do. I definitely don’t want to quit training, so I am just left wondering if I’ve picked two goals that aren’t exactly compatible with one another. I really want to be at my goal weight by the end of May, but I don’t know if that’s possible while I’m training for this race.

I think I need to do some more research on this, but I would also love your feedback. If you’ve trained for a race, have you lost weight while doing so? What do you recommend?

7 thoughts on “Conflicting Goals?

  1. I don't really lose weight while training for a half, but it doesn't help me maintain. I do notice other changes in my body however and I do lose inches. I know it is hard not to focus on that number on the scale though. I don't know if it's because I'm hungrier that I eat more, or if I eat more to fuel myself for my long runs?! Whatever happens, you are doing something awesome and should be proud of what you and your body has accomplished!! GOOD LUCK ON YOUR JOURNEY!

    Like

  2. I trained for a half marathon last year and it was an AMAZING experience. I didn't lose weight, however I didn't have much left to lose (I was around 165 with goal of 145.) I think at the weight you're at, you'll see at least some loss. And you'll be sooo in shape! You do have to be really mindful about your eating though – since you'll be hungrier, make sure you're eating really nutrient/calorie dense complex foods and portion control. I found that I gave myself permission to eat too much just because I ran so much! The 2 lb. gain you saw this morning might be you retaining water – have you been drinking enough after your runs? Would love to see you through this process…YAY!

    Like

  3. When I trained for my first half marathon, I lost a bit of weight, but gained when I trained for a full marathon. I think it's a matter of finding balance… and the weight I gained was mostly muscle mass in my legs. The hardest thing for me to remember was that every mile you run really only burns about 100 calories…and running doesn't usually counteract eating everythign in sight 🙂

    Like

  4. Hillary, I hope you come back and visit my blog again because I wanted to click on your name and go to your blog, but I couldn't see your profile!

    Elaine, BMI is calculated based on weight. Were you thinking about body fat percentage?

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

