February Check-Up and March Goals

First, I want to thank all of you for your supportive comments on my last post. It is so comforting to know I’m not alone and that I’m not crazy. 🙂

Second, Stephen and I got a Wii!! We got a tax return, and we looked for a Wii for a few weeks, but everywhere was sold out. Finally, Stephen found one online from Walmart, and it arrived on Friday. It’s so fun, and naturally we spent a good chunk of the weekend playing it.

Now, on to business!
February starting weight: 178.6
February ending weight: 176.8
LOSS of 1.8 pounds 

While that number is definitely small, I am thrilled that I lost anything, and I would be happy just to maintain through March as I continue my half marathon training.

My February-specific goals:

1. Stop picking at my nails. I did really well with this the first two weeks, but then I completely failed the last two weeks (and it shows–my nails are stubs!). I am definitely going to keep working on this, though.

2. Don’t eat after 8:00 p.m. I didn’t keep a daily record of how I did on this, but if I had to guess, I’d say I did this about 85% of the time.

3. Go to the gym 8 times. 100% success. I went exactly 8 times.

My goals for March:

1. Run in one race. I haven’t picked out the race yet, but I know there are several to choose from. It will more than likely be a 5k.

2. Go to the gym 10 times. Since I did well with this last month, I want to increase the number to keep challenging myself.

3. Get up at 5:15 a.m. at least 4 times during the work week. I’ve written before about my struggle to find time for exercise and Bible study, and getting up early is really the ideal solution because I can accomplish both things and start my day off right. For the past month I’ve been setting my alarm for 5:15, but the days that I have actually gotten out of bed at 5:15 were certainly outnumbered by the days where I got up at 5:30, 5:45, or 6:00 a.m.. I am committed to making 5:15 my regular time, so I’m going to set a concrete goal to help me get there.

As for my year-long goals, here’s a quick recap of those:

Fitness minutes: 848 (goal for the year: 12,000; total so far: 1,368–I’m not sure I’m going to make this goal)
Calories burned: 8805 (no goal set–I just like tracking this) 🙂
Miles ran/walked/biked: 50 (goal for the year: 800; total so far: 78.5–Not sure I will make this goal, either)
Books read: 1 this month (goal for the year: 20; total so far: 5). The book I read is called A Praying Life by Paul Miller, and it was such a wonderful, practical book on prayer. It challenged me a lot about the way I view and approach prayer with the Lord. I highly recommend it. I’m also about 2/3 of the way through a fiction book, so I already know I’ll get more than one book read in March.
I blogged 3 times a week every week but one.
I am still working on finding a set time for daily Bible reading and prayer, but I‘m getting it done.
I have not yet run a 10k or half marathon race.

Phew, that was a lot of stuff! Bless if you if you actually read all of that. 🙂

What are your goals for March?

2 thoughts on “February Check-Up and March Goals

  1. Those are some great goals. You have done so good so far! Congrats on the weight loss.

    My goals are exercise 5x, portion control amongst others.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

