Short but Sweet

I don’t know how, but I completely forgot to share some big news with the blog world.

I’ve lost 85 pounds! I am currently at 175.8, and I can’t even REMEMBER the last time I saw that number on the scale, but I’m guessing it was during my senior year of high school, which was 10 years ago. I am feeling really good and am really happy that I’ve managed to lose 5 pounds so far this year despite the fact that I’m running more than ever (and despite the fact that it’s Girl Scout cookie season!). I think tracking all of my food has helped tremendously, as has my increasing awareness of my obsession with food and my determination not to let food control me.

I’ve had a lot brewing in my brain the past few days, and if I figure out how to articulate some if it, I’ll share it soon. For now, I’ll leave you with this quote that has really inspired me: “If hunger isn’t the problem, then food isn’t the solution!” Can I get an AMEN? 🙂

What quotes inspire you?

10 thoughts on “Short but Sweet

  1. Wow, congrats! I love that quote. I'm not an emotional eater, I go the other way and stop eating, but it still works for me. I should not stop eating to solve the problem either!!

    Like

  2. Amen to that! 85 lbs is amazing, so glad you realized it and shared!!! congrats! i don't have a favorite quote as of yet for my weight loss journey, but i will soon after all the great blogs i'm following! 🙂

    Like

  3. Woo hoo. I can't imagine EVER being at my high school weight. : ) You go girl! PROUD of you. Have a great run tomorrow. Channel some Andrea–I miss running so much!

    PS Running clubs truly aren't that intimidating. Ours in Raleigh has a beginning women's program and so we have abilities of ALL types (up to 20 min miles). So, you might want to check it out some time. It helps turn running into a social activity and allows you to share the pain with others! : )

    Like

  4. CONGRATS. Those darn Samoa girl scout cookies are killing me too. My favorite saying (not really a quote) is Good exercise does not make up for a bad diet . Another favorite is It's easier to consume 1000 calories than to burn 1000 calories. AINT IT THE TRUTH.

    Like

  5. Hi Erin! I don't know if you'll read these comments or if you'll remember me, but I'm Nikki from the gg.org forums. I sent you an email about a month ago. Since I hadn't heard from you (no worries) and I was at gg.org, I went to your profile where you had a link to a blog, which had a link to this blog. If you see this, I'm hoping you'll check your email so I can hear back from you 🙂

    Glad to see you have such great health goals. I had to make some health changes in my life when my poor lifestyle made me have to have my gall bladder removed. Go Erin!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

