The Beginnings

Man, I am SO GLAD the pregnancy is out in the open now! It was so hard to keep it a secret. Now I don’t have to think of things beside pregnancy to blog about. 🙂 You may have noticed that I changed the header on my blog. Since weight loss won’t be happening for a while and my life will be decidedly focused on the baby, I think Baby Love is a fitting name. I considered starting an entirely new blog in which to write all the baby-related posts, and I may still do so. What do you think? Would you follow me to a new blog, or should I just stick with this one?

Currently, according to BabyCenter.com Baby Mount is the size of a kidney bean. I love reading about all the developmental milestones that take place each week. When we found out I was pregnant, I was four weeks along, and the baby was the size of a poppy seed. We had some poppy seeds in the kitchen (for a recipe I never made, ahem), and I couldn’t believe how TINY a poppy seed is! Seriously, they are minuscule. It’s so amazing that a little life can actually grow inside of me!

The first 2 weeks I was pregnant, the whole thing seemed very surreal. I didn’t really feel pregnant and certainly wasn’t showing any outward signs of pregnancy, so it was hard to believe that I even was pregnant. That all changed when we went to our first doctor’s visit. I was 6 weeks along at that point, and Stephen, being the supportive husband and excited father-to-be that he is, went with me to the appointment. They confirmed that I was pregnant, which relieved me because even after taking 3 pregnancy tests I was still a little worried that I would find out I wasn’t in fact pregnant. 🙂 Then we met with my OBGYN, who examined me. She then decided to do an ultrasound to check for an ectopic pregnancy because I had been having some pain in my left side, and she wanted to rule that out. So we waited, rather anxiously, for about 30 minutes until they could squeeze us in. And then, after a few moments, we saw it: our baby. It was incredible! Then we heard the heartbeat, and tears sprung to my eyes because it made the whole thing so REAL. The baby was fine, and after talking with the doctor some more so I could ask her my list of questions, we left, our first baby picture in hand.

I am beyond thankful for this pregnancy. I know it is not something to take for granted, and I pray daily that God would remind me of the tremendous blessing and privilege and responsibility it is to bear and raise a child.

May we be worthy of the task.

12 thoughts on “The Beginnings

  1. Erin, I love the idea of a new blog! New design, new content, everything. If you gave us the link, I would most definitely follow you to a new blog! I'm so happy for you! I think your thoughts on pregnancy will be so thoughtful and amazing…I'm anxious to hear them! 🙂

    Like

  2. i really am so excited for you guys! and i think a new blog devoted to this would be great–you know i will follow you! can't wait to see you go through this journey!

    Like

  3. congratulations Erin 🙂 I love being pregnant, and I know exactly how you felt when you saw your baby. We go in next Tuesday for our 2nd appointment to hear the heart beat 🙂 It's the biggest blessing

    xoxo

    Like

  4. No, don't change to a new blog. This one is called “the Musings of Mrs. Mount” and therefore can include whatever is going on in your life! Plus, I love the connection of losing weight to baby and back. It's neat to see someone's enture journey!

    Like

  5. SO exciting!! I can't wait to read all about it!! I say stay here…I'm with Lauren..it will be fun to see the whole journey…that is your life..:)..in one place!

    Like

  6. It's certainly going to be fun to read your blog and follow along. I was just reminding Val that now that Cooper's almost at nine months old, that's the same amount of time he was in her belly. Trust me, the nine months of pregnancy went by much faster! So enjoy it as much as you can!

    Like

  7. I think you can stick with this one blog just to make things easier on you! It's YOUR blog after all. And of course we would love to follow your journey.

    I loved tracking baby Mark's development too. I went to Babycenter.com and signed up to get a weekly email of what was going on development wise.

    So glad you got to see the LO (little one) and hear the heart beat. I remember when we first saw Mark about 7 1/2 weeks, he looked like a tiny gummy bear. Of course your DH would want to be there! My DH made it to most of the ultrasound appts. (We had lots b/c of my high blood pressure.) Enjoy this journey together!

    I'd love to chat/email/etc. with you as you travel this road. You can email me at andreabachl@hotmail.com (Bachl is my maiden name). Also, ivillage.com has cool message boards set up for each expecting month. Here is the link for your EC (expecting club). Being at the end of the month will be helpful. You can see what everyone else is going through! http://messageboards.ivillage.com/iv-prfeb11n

    Much love to you and your family!

    Andrea

    Like

  8. I have been away for so long, but for some reason I was thinking of you.

    CONGRATULATIONS!! I am happy for you! Enjoy your pregnancy!

    Im glad that things are going so well for you.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

