Pregnancy: A Weighty Issue

One thing that I did not anticipate about pregnancy is the wild, crazy dreams I would have. I have had a lot of very vivid dreams. From what I’ve read/heard from others, those dreams can sometimes be nightmares. So far, none of them have been too bad, save for one.

In that dream, I hopped on the scale for my weekly weigh-in, and to my dismay I had gained FOURTEEN POUNDS! I was horrified and immediately started crying, trying to figure out how I had lost control so quickly. It was awful, and the dream stayed with me after I woke up. I even went and weighed myself just to make sure I hadn’t in fact gained that much weight (I hadn’t).

This dream, while perhaps not a nightmare to some, was rather nightmarish to me, and it preys upon one of my biggest fears about pregnancy: gaining weight. I know gaining weight is a natural, necessary, and expected part of pregnancy, but I am still very nervous. I worked really hard the past 2 1/2 years and lost over 90 pounds, and it’s going to be hard to see the scale going up. Granted, the reason for the higher number on the scale makes it more than worth it, but I am afraid of gaining more than I need to.

The week I found out I was pregnant, I weighed 170.2 pounds, so I am considering that my starting weight. I actually lost a bit the week after that and was at 168.8, but that did not last long. I’ve been fluctuating between 169 and 170.something ever since. I suppose that’s not too bad, and I haven’t gained an insane amount of weight, but I’m only a little under 9 weeks into my pregnancy! I have a long way to go, and I just hope that I can keep the weight gain at a healthy, manageable rate.

So what’s my goal? To gain 25-30 pounds. That’s a very healthy weight gain, and I could even stand to gain less than that because I am still overweight, but I think 25-30 is realistic for me. I know it’s possible; I just hope it’s possible for ME. I am hungry ALL.THE.TIME. right now, so it’s been a struggle not to use that added hunger as an excuse to indulge. I have to remember that the food I’m eating is fueling my growing baby, and that is more important than satisfying my desire for ice cream 3 times a day.

I also need to remember that I only need an additional 300 calories every day, and that’s not a lot when it comes down to it. Where I’m having trouble is figuring out what my caloric intake should be. When I was still actively trying to lose weight, I would eat between 1500-1700 calories a day. So does that mean that now I should eat 1800-2000? Or should I eat more than that because I’m not trying to lose weight and therefore am simply trying to maintain my weight? (I don’t even know if that makes sense now that I’ve written it out!) Basically, I really don’t know, and I guess ultimately the number doesn’t matter as much as my attitude toward food and the choices I make about what I eat. I don’t want to be so obsessed with this that I miss out on the joy of pregnancy, so I’m going to have to find some balance.

I’d love any advice/suggestions any of you have to share!

P.S. I’ve decided to keep my blog here for now, if for no other reason than the fact that all the cute URLs I thought of are already taken. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Pregnancy: A Weighty Issue

  1. I gained 0 pounds with Carly until the last few weeks, when it went to 11 (which I had preeclampsia, so we know now it was water). With Alex, I gained around 10, until the toxemia hit and it shot to 60 overnight. I thought I would NEVER get the weight off (first thought when my kidneys fail…lol). weight is a major issue, and people always watch you after to see if the baby weight is coming off. So many of my friends lose it really quick when the baby can't move, then gain some back when the baby is mobile and you can only grab food as your world goes flying by.

    I am finally trying to get my baby weight off. It's hard, because I can't run like other people, but I have lost one kid so far (man, that sounds bad). It does happen! And with you conscious about it, you know be more aware. Still, don't go overboard watching- there's nothing like giving in to a middle-of-the-night treat when the baby is up grumbling for something. We only did that twice with Carly, but it brought some good memories. πŸ™‚

    Good luck, and you will be awesome parents!

    Like

  2. You are asking all the right questions, and it looks like you have all the right answers! Having a plan is the best way to stay on track. I followed a strict dietary plan with my first two and stayed on track with 23 lbs of weight gain each. I followed my heart (it is deceitful you know) the last two pregnancies and gained 50 lbs each!

    Like

  3. I think the first trimester with Matthew I actually lost 9 pounds, but then I gained 40 πŸ™‚ I probably didn't watch it like I should have. It pretty well came off in 2 months with the help of nursing.

    You will be fine. I know it's scary about the weight gain, but God knows your fears and has already taken care of it. We serve a big and awesome God! He cares about your health and weight and everything else about you, even and especially during pregnancy,which is pretty cool if I do say so myself πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I knew from the moment you told me you were pregnant that you would struggle with these questions, and that's only natural. I think anyone in your position would be facing the same fears. I can't speak to your exact situation, but I can speak to gaining too much pregnancy weight and the process of losing it after delivery.

    At the end of it all, I gained about 50 lbs. with Austin, most within the second trimester (granted, he was a 9 pound baby, but still). I was so sick that I lost weight in the first trimester, and I was so excited to just be hungry again and enjoying food again that I went overboard. I ate my share of healthy stuff, but I ate plenty of junk too. I did not keep up with calories, and I overate when I was hungry! When I delivered Austin, I breastfed for the first few months, and I lost a good bit of weight right at first. But those last 25 pounds or so took me probably about 18 months to get off, but honestly I wasn't doing much to try to lose it except for running after my kid.

    But I've learned my lesson, and this time around I'm planning to be more careful. I haven't gained any weight so far, but once again my nausea has kept me from eating much. Once I'm feeling hungry again (sometime ravenously so!) I'm not going to justify eating everything in sight just because I'm pregnant! I'm definitely going to make healthier choices, stop eating when I'm full, and keep a closer eye on the scale. I know it's better for me and for baby!

    I think you've learned so much through your personal journey, and the fact that you are aware of the dangers means that you're already ahead of the game. As always, moderation is key. Do what you need to do to enjoy your pregnancy! Don't feel bad giving in to cravings every once in a while. And don't beat yourself up too bad if you go over your goal a little bit, weight gain during pregnancy is hard to control. What may be even more important is making sure to take care of yourself after the baby gets here.

    Sorry I wrote a novel! I'm so excited for you, and I think you'll make an AMAZING mom!!!

    Like

  5. I gained 12 pounds with my pregnancy. I'd previously lost 30 pounds, then gained 12, and I lost the “baby weight” by the time my son was a week old. He's 5 1/2 months old now, and I'm down an additional 26 pounds. I'm only about 15 away from my goal weight!

    Throughout my pregnancy, I exercised nearly every day. I went to spin classes a few times per week up until my son was born. I went for a walk almost every day. I did yoga. I stayed active. And it made the entire experience so much easier.

    Rather than focusing on calories and all of that, I focused on eating as healthy as I possibly could. I didn't have cravings, and I believe it was because I was giving my body the nutrients it needed to make a healthy baby.

    Don't worry about your weight for now. Focus on being the best mom you can be by giving your baby the healthiest environment possible, and the weight will take care of itself. Also, BREASTFEED. It's the best thing you can do for your baby, and it'll help you bounce back more quickly after you give birth.

    Good luck! I'm so happy for you!

    Like

  6. What? As in, Wha ha ha ha hattt? I feel so left out! I didn't check your blog till tonight and I'm just discovering all the new stuff going on in your life!! Big time congrats from Colorado to the Mounts! I'm so happy you're feeling well so far. As far as your calorie intake, I would recommend eating the same as you did before you got pregnant for now. If you get sick with morning sickness then it's important to eat (even tho that will sound like the worst idea on the planet) pretty constantly. Or if you're starving now, try and take in a good amount of protein. Good protein sources that I nommed on when prego were: deviled eggs/boiled eggs, cold grilled meats, yogurt with grapenuts, hummus, etc.
    You will do GREAT! What a lucky little baby to have a momma like you!!!
    Oh, and I recommend Old Navy for maternity. Ross sometimes has good finds too.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

