Workouts (or Lack Thereof)

Okay friends, it’s time to talk exercise.

I haven’t been doing it.

Here’s the thing: I am tired ALL. THE. TIME. I have been going to bed between 9:30 and 10:00 every night and sleeping until 6:30 or 7:00 every morning, and still I am tired! After I get home from work, it’s all I can do to keep my eyes open, much less workout. It’s really pitiful (just ask my husband!). I have read/heard that the fatigue lessens some when the second trimester hits, and I sure hope so! Still, I have a few more weeks before that happens (I’m 9 weeks along right now), so I need to figure out something. Maybe I need to tell myself I’ll do just 10 minutes of cardio a day. That’s not much, but it’s less than zero. Every night I tell myself, “Tomorrow I’ll work out,” and then tomorrow comes and I’m tired, and it doesn’t happen. Basically, I’m using my fatigue as an excuse not to exercise, and it’s not doing my body (or the baby) any good.

Apparently I need a good kick in the pants, so readers, lay it on me! How do I beat this fatigue?

7 thoughts on “Workouts (or Lack Thereof)

  1. Honestly, there's much you can do to fight the fatigue. Ginny and I would take some short walks around our apartment complex, just to get around and do something.

    But your energy level will return soon, and you'll feel great for (hopefully) the rest of the time.

    Like

  2. Just do what you can. I am a TOTAL believer that you always “follow your body” when your pregnant. If your tired, REST!:-) Your body (and baby) need it!! You should start getting some of that energy back during the 2nd trimester, but it only lasts a minute and then the 3rd hits and your body starts kicking into overdrive….So excited for you!

    Like

  3. well, i haven't had fatigue for this reason but…i do have chronic fatigue syndrome! this is about what my life is all the time. i don't do coffee or much soda for caffine, honestly i try to rest as much as i can, and i'm finding that water aerobics are a great thing for me–especially my class that is geared for senior citizens! maybe that is something you could look into? before that 15-20 minutes was honestly about as much as i could do of normal cardio. but dear, maybe this isn't something that you are supposed to “beat”~your body is worn out for a reason, that reason being the sweet little one growing inside of you! and maybe yoga would be good–something to help with toning and stretching your body as well as breathing and calming your mind?

    i don't really know, but i hope you find something that will work for you & the little one! (Ooo–what about walking through stores full of baby stuff??) 😉

    Like

  4. I totally feel ya! I'm exhausted! About all I can do right now is play Wii tennis, lol, but even that's better than nothing. I don't know about you, but getting started is the hardest part for me. I think your ten-minute idea could really work for you. Once you get started, you may feel really good and be able to go longer.

    Trust me, you really will feel better in your 2nd trimester. I'm hoping that in a few of weeks I'll have enough energy back (and maybe the temp will go down enough!) that I can make myself take some walks around the neighborhood.

    Like

  5. JUST DO IT! I remember when I was pregnant and all I wanted to do after work was crash. But I would pack my gym clothes in my car and head straight to the gym so I didn't have a choice. And I'd tell myself the same thing, “if I only do 10 min then that's ok.” But once I got started I felt like I could do 20-25 min. And like you said, I definitely felt better when I was done.
    You just have to get started! YOU CAN DO IT! Plus if you workout while you're pregnant, it should help you take the weight off after too!
    – Erin

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

