Oh, Baby!

Hello, friends! I hope you’ve all had a great week. I’ve been dealing with some nausea (which for me has not been the norm in pregnancy), so I stayed home today to get some rest. I watched an episode of A Baby Story earlier, and good gracious, it had me bawling! I never really liked watching that show before because I thought it was kind of “icky,” but curiosity got the better of me this morning. I have to say that watching someone in labor and in obvious pain kind of freaked me out, but when the baby was born, I just started crying. I kept thinking about how that will be me in 200 or so days, and it’s just so overwhelming and wonderful.

On Wednesday I went in for my first OB appointment, and we were there for over 2 1/2 hours! We talked to someone about insurance (woohoo), then we met with a nurse practitioner, and she took a family history. As she was asking all the questions I realized how fortunate Stephen and I are that our families have had no major health issues beyond diabetes and high blood pressure and the like. Then we got to hear baby’s heartbeat! It took the technician a while to find the heartbeat, and she was pressing down on my abdomen really hard. I had to go to the bathroom, so that part was less than fun, but then we heard little baby’s heartbeat! It is amazing how fast a baby’s heart beats! Then we had a quick chat with the doctor, I had a bunch of blood drawn at the lab, and we were done! I go back in 4 weeks, and then 4 weeks from that we’ll have an ultrasound and hopefully find out the sex of the baby!

The only downside to the whole experience? Stepping on the stupid doctor’s scale. I had just weighed myself at home the previous Saturday, and the scale said 171, a mere pound higher than what it said when I found out I was pregnant. I was so excited! Then, I stepped on the doctor’s scale on Wednesday, and it said 176. When I weighed in at 6 weeks, that scale said 172, which means I gained 4 pounds in 5 weeks! What in the world?? So do I just chalk it up to bloating or something and just worry about what my scale at home says? Or do I keep freaking out like I have been over the past two days? I hate the scale. HATE. IT. Part of me says I should just not look at the scale, but then I would be scared about gaining 5 pounds in one week or something.

What is the solution? Someone help this crazy woman!

5 thoughts on “Oh, Baby!

  1. If you weigh in the AM naked (like most people do), but were clothed and had eaten a bit before your appointment, that could account for the difference. All scales are calibrated a bit differently, so I wouldn't get too upset. Even if you did gain a bit, you are having a BABY after all!

    Like

  2. I know lots of women who continue to workout most days while they are preggers and really say it makes a HUGE difference in the labor and the bounce back after the baby. I just wouldn't stop what you're doing healthwise and now just invite the baby along with you:) So exciting!!!

    Like

  3. I used to watch A Baby Story in college sometimes…throughout the show I would go from, 'Oh, I want a baby' to 'There is no way on God's green earth I can handle the pain of labor' to 'Oh, I want a baby'. Really, I don't think I could watch it if I ever am pregnant…but glad you were able to do so; I like looking at the nursery ideas too!

    Like

  4. I have to say that watching someone in labor and in obvious pain kind of freaked me out, but when the baby was born, I just started crying.

    Wait until you see the real deal – the WHOLE deal – at the baby boot camp (or birth classes, if you prefer to call them).

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

