Better Late Than Never

So even though Labor Day was last week, how about I share some pics from our long weekend with you? Yes? Okay. We decided to go to St. Louis for the holiday weekend as a kind of mini getaway before we have kids and it’s a lot more difficult to get away together. Much thanks to Stephen’s parents for watching Bailey while we were gone. Fortunately she is loved greatly by both my and Stephen’s parents, and if they love our dog, we have no doubt they’ll love our baby even more. πŸ™‚

Stephen scored a pretty good deal on a hotel for us on Priceline, and we stayed at the Hyatt Regency at the Arch.

We could see the arch from our room!

We ended up having TWO rooms at the hotel due to some unfortunate circumstances I won’t get into here, but our second room was a junior suite and super nice, so it worked out okay.

Before we checked into our hotel, we stopped by the St. Louis Zoo. Even though it took over an HOUR just to get to a place where we could park our car, we enjoyed our time there. We saw a very cute sea lion show:

We attempted to take a picture of ourselves without cutting out some portion of one of our heads. As always, we were somewhat successful.

We also saw these Wild Somali A*ses (I promise that really is their name, but I’m throwing in the asterisk so as not to steer perverts here), who were posed so oddly that we couldn’t resist taking a picture.

Saturday night we walked down to the nearest MetroLink station and went to Union Station, which just so happens to house the hotel where we stayed on our last trip in May 2008. I was also delighted to find that the Hogwarts Express sign was still there, so of course I had to take a picture. Check out the difference between me now and me then!

Erin circa May 2008

Erin circa Sept. 2010 (and pregnant, too!)

Our hotel had a Starbucks in it, so Stephen had his first taste of Starbucks! Neither of us drinks coffee, but I used to frequent Starbucks quite a bit for the white chocolate mochas and the frappuccinos. Stephen had decided before our trip that it was time he sampled something, so he tried the vanilla latte and thought it was okay but not great. I got a decaf nonfat Java Chip Frappuccino, which is delicious and which I used to have FAR too often in grad school (and you better believe I got the full fat variety back then), but he didn’t love that either. We went back on Monday morning, and he thoroughly enjoyed his hot chocolate (no coffee in that, haha) while I had my white chocolate mocha. Yum!

Sunday was the big event of our trip–seeing a Cardinals game at Busch Stadium! But before that, we had to make a stop by THE St. Louis landmark-the Arch. Stephen is quite dwarfed by it in this picture.

After some sightseeing in the wonderfully cool, breezy air, it was off to the Stadium, which was also within walking distance. I had been to the old stadium once before many years ago but didn’t care a lick about baseball at that time. I still don’t care a ton about baseball, but I love the way my husband loves the Cardinals, and I was excited to experience a live game with him. Plus, ballparks have great food! πŸ™‚ We had seats behind third base, and we had a really good view of the whole field!

Fortunately for us, the Cardinals actually managed to win a game, which is a rarity these days. It was a really fun game, and I’m so glad we got to go.

For our last outing, we took the MetroLink once again out to the Delmar Loop area and had dinner at Pi Pizzeria. We ordered the thin crust with pepperoni and extra fresh mozzarella, and it was very different from other pizzas I’ve had but completely delicious. (Sorry, I didn’t take a picture!)

Monday we stopped by Stephen’s parents for a quick visit and lunch at Subway, and after a very brief visit with Stephen’s grandma, it was back to Jackson for us. It was a very quick trip, but I’m glad we were able to get away and spend some time together.

Now, I must know: what is the best trip you’ve ever been on?

8 thoughts on “Better Late Than Never

  1. so much fun! and that before and after picture–wow girl! you have done amazingly well!

    i think my best trip ever was our honeymoon to Maine–just perfect! 70 degree weather the whole time, our first time alone together, walking around the little shops. gorgeous!

    Like

  2. Best trip ever? It's a tie between two months in Europe in 2006 and five weeks in Africa in 2009. Both were incredible. Oh, and my honeymoon to Orlando was pretty perfect, too.

    I love traveling! Glad you had a good time!

    And your before and afters are inCREDible! Go you!

    Like

  3. I do remember the Starbuck overdoses in grad school. But, in all honesty, that was the best thing around, and we studied/conferenced in it. Your two pics from '08 and '10 are amazing.

    Like

  4. First off, LOVE the fact that the Cards won for you while you were there…since we're so close to Cinci now, we have to deal with all these Reds fans getting all puffed up this season. Hmpf.

    Second, love the pictures which show your weight loss- AMAZING πŸ™‚

    Third, favourite trip? I have no idea…I love all my travels for various different reasons…but hearing Vivaldi played in front of the cathedral in Antwerp was definitely a favourite moment of one of my trips πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. You look just FABULOUS Erin. You are one cute pregnant lady… although I can't even tell you're pregnant. Love that purple top. So glad you got away with S. Now is the time to do it. Although, Mark is such a GOOD baby… we've been to TN, SC, GA, and VA since he was born. He's a traveler already.

    Two top trips with my DH: our honeymoon to Venice, Florence, and Rome. And our trip last Spring to Paris and the South of France. We don't regret splurging on those trips at all! And we want to go back!

    Hugs.

    Andrea

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

