November Goals

I’m here to ‘fess up to you, my readers.  My weight gain was nuts in October.  I have my next checkup at the OB tomorrow, and I wouldn’t be surprised if I the scale shows an 8 pound gain from my last visit a mere FOUR WEEKS ago!  I was relieved on Monday to see that I didn’t gain any weight this past week, but still, tomorrow could be an entirely different story.  As of Monday, the scale said 188, which makes for a total weight gain of 18 pounds.  I think I gained about 5 of those pounds in the span of 3 weeks, which is crazy.  I have been extremely hungry a lot of the time, but I have used that as an excuse to fill up on empty calories like sweets and even Coke.  I hardly ever had regular Coke when I was trying to lose weight, so I don’t know why all of a sudden I told myself it was okay to have them, but there was a stretch of about two weeks where I was craving (and drinking) them almost every day!  (And before someone leaves me a comment about the caffeine being bad for me, one can of coke has about 30-something mg of caffeine, which is far below the 200-300 mg most practitioners believe is safe for pregnancy.)  Last week I realized that I was going to head into dangerous waters if I didn’t stop myself, so I’m trying to regain control of my eating habits and focus more on living healthy so my baby has a healthy environment in which to grow and develop.   I’m not going to get all crazy and try to lose weight or anything like that; I just need to stop being a mindless zombie when it comes to eating!

With that in mind, I decided to set some goals for November.  I used to set goals every month, but I haven’t done that in a while, and I think the focus would really help me.  Here are my goals for November:

1.  Track my food every day and try to stay between 1800-2000 calories.  Right now, the tracking is really important for me because I snack a lot, and if I am not aware of how much I am eating, I can easily go overboard.

2.  No more Coke!

3.  Exercise for a minimum of 120 minutes a week.  I can split this up however I choose, and if I do more than that, great!  I’ve done a fairly decent job of exercising at least 3 days a week most weeks, so I hope to continue that and maybe even exceed 120 minutes every week.  I’ve already logged 80 minutes for this week, so I’m feeling good!

4.  No eating after 8 p.m.  There’s no need to eat after this time, since I go to bed between 9:30-10:30, and usually when I feel the urge to eat after 8, I want to eat junk, so I’m going to enforce this curfew, which has helped me before.

Hopefully these goals will allow me to be disciplined without being obsessive.  I’ll report each week on how I did for the previous week.

Do you have any goals for this month? 

3 thoughts on “November Goals

  1. i have some of the same goals…I'm slowly losing weight again, but it is SLOW. need to up the exercise and tracking.

    good luck w/your goals–i know you're taking great care of Charlotte!

    Like

  2. Hey girlie. I want to encourage you to extend yourself some grace here sweetheart. I don't know if it's wise to try to restrict your calories or say no food after 8 pm. You'll find as you continue in your pregnancy that you'll need to keep eating b/c you are generally HUNGRY. I got to the point where I was eating a bowl of cereal or toast before I went to bed b/c I was so hungry… and I'd get nauseous or light-headed if I didn't eat.

    I think the no coke rule is a good one. Maybe try a Coke Zero if you really want it?

    Talk to your dr. about your weight concerns and your idea about calorie restriction. This might give you “permission” to give yourself a little more leeway, b/c I think your dr. would say to not restrict… You need to eat when you're hungry.

    Having said all this, I remember times when I gained 4 pounds in a 2 week or even 1 week period (towards the end of my pregnancy), and then nothing for several weeks. So don't get discouraged if you see a big gain once. As long as you aren't doing it every week, you're ok.

    I don't know if you're planning to breast feed, but if you do, the weight will come off very quickly! It helps shrink your uterus too so that will help as well.

    Remember, the goal is to grow a healthy baby and to have a healthy and happy mom. ENJOY this time in your life and cherish it. And if you indulge here and there, that's ok! You won't always have this time…

    My goals? Survival! : ) I've been back at work for a month after my 3 month maternity leave. I'm not really even exercising right now b/c things are so hectic! But it won't always be like this… so I'm trying to hang in there.

    Big hugs,
    Andrea

    Like

  3. Glad you are getting it under control early. You know they say you only need something like an extra 300 calories per day when pregnant…hard to believe. When I was pregnant with all 3 kids I was HUNGRY. Or maybe I THOUGHT I was hungry…dont know..but what I do know is w/ first baby, gained 65 lbs eating big macs and anything I wanted, 2nd baby, gained 35, but still had on 35 from the previous pregnancy, 3rd pregnancy only gained 30 but had on even more weight. After 18 years from first pregnancy finally lost it all.. Moral of the story. Eat healthfully and dont gain too much and you'll have a healthy baby and you'll be happier afterwards.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

