If I Can’t Sleep, I May As Well Blog

One thing I definitely won’t miss about pregnancy?  The insomnia.  I woke up for a bathroom break around 2:40 and have been awake ever since.  It’s so miserable to want to sleep and not be able to! 

However, since I am awake, I thought I’d briefly recap our Christmas weekend.  Since we spent Thanksgiving with my family in Memphis, we headed to Illinois to visit Stephen’s family for Christmas.  Our first stop was to stay with his parents on Thursday night.  On Christmas Eve, I was thrilled to see that it was SNOWING!

Photograph proof of the snow 

That evening we went to the Christmas Eve service at my in-laws’ church (Stephen’s dad is the pastor).  Several members of the church gave us presents for Charlotte, and they are SO sweet.  After the Christmas Eve service Stephen and I followed his parents to his grandmother’s house, where we spent the rest of the weekend.  The drive would have been fine had it not been for the crazy snow we encountered.  I was a nervous wreck the whole time.  At one point I couldn’t even look at the road because it just made me nervous and want to cry.  (Of course, these days everything makes me want to cry.  I am practically a water fountain.)  Fortunately, we made it there safely, although the trip that usually takes an hour ended up taking almost two because of the road conditions. 

Christmas day was spent eating yummy food and watching movies and napping (Well, I think I’m the only one who did any napping, but it was divine).  We didn’t take any pictures on Christmas, but here are some we took the day after:

It’s hard to believe that next Christmas we will have a BABY!  I can’t wait. 🙂

What was your favorite part of Christmas this year?

One thought on “If I Can’t Sleep, I May As Well Blog

  1. Happy New Year, Erin! What a 2011 y'all have in store!

    My favorite part of Christmas this year was being in Chapel Hill (TN) at my Mom's the weekend before, watching Cooper play with all of his young cousins. He's just so much fun, laughing and jibber-jabbering.

    Then, Christmas morning he let us sleep in, and Val cooked breakfast and we opened Cooper's presents for him as he sped around the house pushing his scooter.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

