35 Weeks, 2 Days

I had every intention of posting this on Monday, but this week has been very busy, and I just haven’t gotten the chance until now.  I only have 33 days until my due date, which is so exciting, but I’m also getting more and more nervous about giving birth.  I have decided to have as natural a birth as possible (unless something like a c-section happens), so I need to start practicing the breathing and relaxation techniques we’ve learned in our childbirth class.  Speaking of the class, it’s been really helpful, and next Monday we go on our tour of the hospital, which I’m really looking forward to. 


Baby's size?  At the ultrasound last week we found out she was 4 pounds, 12 ounces, but I bet she’s grown some since then!

Weight Gain?  I weighed last week at the doctor’s office, but I forgot what my starting weight there is, so I am not sure.  It’s definitely around the 33 or 34 pound mark already, which makes me a little depressed.

Stretch marks? There are some, but they are not very obvious.

Belly button in or out?  Still a very shallow innie.

Maternity Clothes? There are still a few tops that aren’t maternity that I can wear, but all of my pants are maternity, and some of them have gotten too snug around the waist because of where they hit my belly.

Sleep?  I have good days and bad days.  My hips have been bothering me a lot, which makes it harder to be comfortable.

Foods I am loving?  Nothing good for me! 🙂  I got a disappointing batch of clementines at the store this past week, so that was a bummer. 

Foods I am hating?  Still not feeling the seafood.

Best moment this week?  Seeing Charlotte on the ultrasound!

Movement?  Sometimes I think she is using my insides as a punching bag!

Symptoms?  Some back and hip pain, along with the usual suspects: nasal congestion and insomnia.  I’ve also had a lot more heartburn.

What I miss?  Normal clothes and being able to bend over without discomfort. 🙂

What I will miss?  Feeling her little punches and kicks.

What I'm looking forward to?  Baby showers!  I have a small one on Thursday night and then another one on Saturday.  I can’t wait to see everyone!

Emotions:  All over the place!

Words of wisdom?  Don’t look at pre-pregnancy pictures!  I looked at some the other day and got a little sad because even though I wasn’t at my goal weight, I was so close, and I actually looked good!  This of course is funny to me as well because at the time I still didn’t feel as though I liked my body, but I sure would like it now!

#avg_ls_inline_popup { position:absolute; z-index:9999; padding: 0px 0px; margin-left: 0px; margin-top: 0px; width: 240px; overflow: hidden; word-wrap: break-word; color: black; font-size: 10px; text-align: left; line-height: 13px;}

4 thoughts on “35 Weeks, 2 Days

  1. Giving birth is such a joy! That's really the one thing that didn't scare me, I have no idea why though. 🙂

    I went as natural for as long as possible. When I got to 8 cm, Daniel and I both decided I should get the epidural so I could rest/nap before I had to start pushing. It was a great decision for me b/c I ended up pushing for 2 hours, to no avail, and then had to have a c-section. I know I would've been more exhausted after those 2 hours if I wasn't able to nap before pushing. I was exhausted anyways, but it did help some.

    My hips hurt SO bad, starting about 5 weeks prior to my due date. I could not get comfortable at night either because the pain was horrible. I'd switch sides and that would help for a time, then I'd have to switch back b/c I'd be hurting. I ended up going to a physical therapist b/c of the hip and the back pain. It got unbearable for awhile and he showed me some exercises to help alleviate some of the pain. He showed Daniel where to massage my hips too, that really helped. And how to use a tennis ball and the wall, when Daniel was unavailable for massages. Those helped me so much!
    He said the hips are just stretching out to get ready for childbirth and that the pain was from that. The hips want to keep stretching out for childbirth, but you can only stand so much of the stretching b/c then it becomes quite uncomfortable for you. His wife had just given birth 9-10 months prior to when I saw him, so he told me he knew all about what I was going through b/c his wife had just experienced it. I bet he was nice to have around then! 🙂

    What helped me get through the pain of labor was picturing Nyla going down the birth canal, making progress to come out. I would immediately start picturing that (I'm a visual person) when I started having contractions and picturing that really helped me get through them. Some of them are more painful than others, especially when you're getting to be 6 or more cm dilated. But I always remembered there was an end in sight and it was all happening and progressing so Nyla could come out. Visualizing helped reduce my pain. I'm a big weanie when it comes to pain and I really felt like I toughed it out through that process. I felt like I was a real trooper and was proud of myself for taking all that pain.

    I hope you are able to get lots of rest and you have almost everything ready. Charlotte will be here before you know it and it will be awesome! Looking at her for the first time will absolutely blow you away. Besides getting married, it will be the best day of your life. A true blessing! When you see her and think about the whole process of pregnancy it just blows your mind. It's hard to imagine them in your belly after you have them, it's almost hard to fathom. It's totally wild! And it's the best!
    Enjoy every minute with just you and your husband. Soon it won't be as quiet on Saturday mornings, but of course, it's totally worth it.

    Okay, I wrote a novel, sorry! 🙂

    Like

  2. It's getting so close! I am SO SO excited for you. You are going to get there, and these momentary pains are just that… they won't always be there. Cherish these last moments of being able to feel her move. It's so, so precious (even though hip pain and going to the bathroom all the time can be a major hassle!).

    You are going to do GREAT in delivery. The unknown is so hard, but remember there are going to be a lot of people around you to help you through. You can make a plan and then always make changes to your plan as needed.

    I wanted a natural birth, but after 23 hours of labor… I was worn out and got an epidural. Looking back I wouldn't change anything (except maybe I would get the epidural a little sooner just so I don't lose 2 days of sleep right before I have to care for a newborn!). But you will do what is right for YOU when the time comes. And whatever happens will be just great!

    Can't wait to “meet” her too. Sending big hugs!

    Like

  3. I've been stalking a lot without posting but: YOU LOOK GREAT NOW! I swear, aside from your tummy, you don't look that much different from your pre-preggers photos. You probably make most pregnant women jealous. 🙂

    Congrats again!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

