Back in the Game

I can’t believe that Charlotte is already 3 weeks and 3 days old!  I only have 3 more weeks of maternity left, which is a big bummer.  I really hope Charlotte does okay in daycare; she’s been a rather fussy newborn, but hopefully things will improve in the next 3 weeks.  She at least has graduated from needing to be held to sleep to sleeping in her bouncy seat, but even then she still needs to be held to fall asleep.  She won’t sleep in her crib or cradle for long at all, so we will have to work on that more, especially because she won’t fit in her bouncy seat forever! 🙂

Now that I’m over 3 weeks postpartum, I decided it is more than time for me to begin thinking about fitness and my weight again (not that I haven’t thought about my weight already!).  I had 3 weeks to recover and am feeling mostly normal (except for still being sleep-deprived), so there’s no reason for me to postpone exercise any longer.  I am hoping to reach my goal weight by the end of the year, so I need to get it in gear! 

My starting weight, as of this morning: 193
My ultimate goal weight: 160
My short term goal weight:  183

I am definitely not a fan of that starting weight, but I have to start somewhere, right?  I am not exactly sure what my last weight on my home scale was before Charlotte came, since I started going by the doctor’s scale. I know I weighed 170 when I found out I was pregnant, and I think I gained 40 pounds total, so I guess I’ve lost roughly 17 pounds since Charlotte was born.  I wish it were more than that, but I’ll take what I can get! 

My plan is to exercise at least 3 times a week for 30 minutes each time.  This is a very modest goal, as I know exercise time will be hard to come by, especially once I go back to work, and if I end up working out more than that, great!  Once I go to my 6 week postpartum check-up and get the all-clear, I am going to start Couch to 5k again.  This morning I got in 35 minutes of treadmill time, but I only managed to run for 2 minutes.  I definitely have lost a TON of endurance, which shouldn’t surprise me since I stopped running in August, but today showed me how far I have to go.  I’m really excited to get back into exercise, though, and I know that if I keep at it, I can be back to running like I was before I had Charlotte. 

I also am going to go back to faithfully tracking my food with SparkPeople and work on making good food choices so I don’t sabotage my fitness efforts.  Even though I have 33 pounds to lose by the end of the year, the good news is I know I can do it because I lost 90 before!  I’ll try to blog as much as I can, which may not be much, but I hope you’ll follow along!

4 thoughts on “Back in the Game

  1. Today I ran for the first time in a long time. Short distances with lots of walking in between. I kept thinking of you and how well you've done. You're great motivation for me. We have the same goal weight but I've got more to lose than you. But I know I can do it! My new mantra is No EXCUSES! My diabetes doctor showed me some tough love last week.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

