A Month Old Already?!

Yesterday Charlotte turned a month old!  I really can’t believe how quickly time is passing.  She will be in college before I know it.  Sniff sniff. 🙂  I have to say that she is doing much better in the sleeping department; most nights she only wakes up when it’s time for her to eat (pretty much every 3 hours on the dot).  Stephen and I have split the night up into shifts, so I go to bed between 9 and 10, and he takes care of Charlotte until 2 a.m., when it’s my turn.  This has helped both of us get more sleep and seems to work well.  Charlotte still doesn’t seem to like sleeping in her crib or cradle, but I am going to keep trying to put her in them because when she goes to daycare that is where she will have to sleep!  She still has her fussy periods, but I think it’s mostly due to gas pains.  We have been experimenting with different formula and bottles and using Mylicon drops, so hopefully we can find something that works best for her.  Fortunately, she has been better the past 2 days or so, fortunately. 

And yes, after much thought, we did decide to switch over to formula.  It is amazing how much less stress I felt when we did this, and even though I still believe breastfeeding is best, it just didn’t work for us.  In the end, what matters is that Charlotte is healthy and is growing, and she is doing just that.  In fact, she gained 1 pound and 1 ounce in two weeks!  Overall, I’m a happier mommy now, and I know that can’t be anything but beneficial for Charlotte, too.

Yesterday Charlotte also went on her first social outing!  We had dinner with our small group from church at a friend’s house, and she did really well!  I was nervous all day about how Charlotte would be because the afternoons/early evenings seem to be the times when she is most fussy, but she was great!  She pretty much slept the whole time, and our friends had a small portable swing that Charlotte absolutely LOVED!  This was great to us because she has not really liked to use our swing at all (it’s a big, full-sized model).  They ended up giving us the swing to borrow, which was super nice, and I am looking forward to seeing how she likes it at our house.  This morning Charlotte and I visited Stephen at work and showed her off to his coworkers, and she was on her best behavior for them, too.  It is my goal to try and take her out for a little bit each day, so she can get used to riding in the car and being out in public (and of course I will avoid large, crowded places since she hasn’t had her first round of shots yet). 

On the weight loss front, I did not lose any weight this past week.  I did however get in 3 separate workouts of 30-35 minutes apiece, so I am pleased with that.  I am trying to eat better, but admittedly still have lots of room for improvement in this area.  I developed some bad habits while I was pregnant (like needing to have something sweet after dinner), so I am going to have be diligent about breaking these habits and remember that I am no longer pregnant and do not need to consume any extra calories because I am not breastfeeding either.

All in all, life is good, if not a bit hectic and crazy at times.  But I wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

5 thoughts on “A Month Old Already?!

  1. I just love all of her pictures! My doctor said that the most important time for breastfeeding is in the first two weeks and that after that, it's okay to switch to formula if you need to…so I wouldn't worry too much about switching. We all have plans of what we'd like to do, but I imagine having an actual baby to work with changes things a bit. 😉

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

