Back to Work

Tomorrow marks the end of my maternity leave.  I admit that I have mixed feelings.  On the one hand, I am going to miss seeing my little girl all day, every day.  On the other hand, I am looking forward to getting to interact with adults and get back to my job, which I happen to like (most of the time, haha).

I think the most difficult thing about going back to work is knowing that someone else will be taking care of her, not me.  The thought of her being in daycare every day makes me really sad, and I know I will have a hard time the first few weeks.  However, I know that she will be in good hands.  I also know that daycare kids don’t end up scarred for life or anything like that.  After all, I was in daycare, and I’m only slightly neurotic, so it can’t be too bad, right? 😉 

Another challenge about going back to work will be finding time to exercise.  Time is at a premium now, but it will be much more so when I am back at work and the only time I will have with Stephen and Charlotte will be in the early morning before I leave and in the evening after we are all at home.  I feel selfish for wanting to spend any of that precious time just exercising, but I know it’s important to take care of myself so I can be there for Stephen and for Charlotte.  It will be tough, though.  I am going to just keep trying to get in at least 3 workouts of at least 30 minutes at a time, and I will start Couch to 5k next week, which will give me a specific goal to work towards. 

Overall, going back to work is a necessity right now, and while I’m not completely thrilled about it, I am determined to make the best of the situation and take it one day at a time. Ultimately, that’s really all any of us are guaranteed.

6 thoughts on “Back to Work

  1. Erin-
    This is my mommy verse I'll pass along to you:
    “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that He may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7

    The way I think of my little ones is this: they are ultimately His. He loves them more than I could ever fathom. Charlotte is in His hands…

    Praying for you in these next few weeks of more adjustment…its always a continuum of adjustment! haha

    What a terrific mom you are! Love seeing pictures of you as a mom…always knew you would be!
    Kandra

    Like

  2. I was in daycare for a year and I actually really enjoyed it. I went to a Methodist preschool and had lots of friends there.

    Before my stint in publishing, I also worked at a daycare and can tell you, I loved those babies so much. Most all of the teachers at the place I worked saw our work as important and our students as beloved. It's good to know that most people don't get into that kind of work unless they have a genuine love of kids and want to see them succeed! I'm sure Charlotte will do great!

    I hope your first week back to work is wonderful and you guys ease into this new rhythm as a family without any trouble! Blessings. 🙂

    Like

  3. I just started working out during my lunch. It's only 25-30 minutes but that's better than doing nothing. I also have hard time leaving my baby to go work out after I've left her all day. I know she'll be fine but I won't be. So for now I'm using my lunch to workout and I just make sure I pack something I can eat in the car on my drive.

    Like

  4. Perhaps some family friendly options would be a good choice on the days you aren't going to solo exercise. A family walk, or running with Charlotte in a running stroller might work.

    Best of luck when you get back to work.

    -Stefanie

    Like

  5. DO NOT FEEL GUILTY ABOUT WORKING OUT. I was like that when I got the 6 week clear. I felt guilty for leaving Troy with Nick for an hour cause in my mind, Nick works so its my job to care for Troy. BUT, if I hadn't gone out and had “me” time, I would have lost it. It really helped with the minor PP I did have. Good luck with work, it'll be a huge adjustment, but your such a strong woman, you can do it. Trust in Him, and all will be okay.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

