May 2011 Goals

I’m sneaky.  I made goals for this month on May 1 but am just now sharing them with you.  Honestly, though, this is the first chance I’ve had to share them.  Those who have read my blog for over a year may recall that I was a big advocate and practitioner of making monthly and even weekly goals, but that goal-setting dropped off substantially once I got pregnant.  Now, however, after my closet meltdown, my sweet husband Stephen encouraged me not to wallow in my dissatisfaction with my weight but to make a plan to change it.  After all, that’s exactly what I did on January 21, 2008, and that’s exactly how I lost 90 pounds before I got pregnant.  So without further rambling on my part, my weight loss stats and goals for May:

Starting weight (as of May 1): 197.6–Not gonna lie, this number totally depressed me because at one point postpartum the scale got down to 191.  At the time I was sad that it was even that high, but now I’d LOVE to be back at 191! 

Goals:
1.  Lose 4 pounds.  A pound a week is a very modest but reasonable goal for me, especially when time for exercise is at a premium. 
2.  Abstain from soda and chocolate candy and limit chips to one serving size.  Though I usually drink Coke Zero when I have soda so I’m not “drinking” my calories, I find that even drinking that makes me crave regular Coke and causes me to indulge in that more than I should.  It also can prevent me from getting enough water each day, so for the next 3 months I am not going to have any soda.  The same goes for chocolate candy, which I would eat in large quantities every day if I could (Cadbury Eggs, how I miss thee!).  The chips are a problem if I eat them straight out of the bag because I eat WAY more than I need to (hello, Fritos!), but I am going to make sure that if I decide to have chips, I will measure out the appropriate serving size and stop at that. 
3.  Exercise 3 days a week for at least 30 minutes a time.  I know that’s only 90 minutes a week, but it’s all I can reasonably expect of myself right now, as I’m still trying to figure out a “new normal.”
4.  Track all of my food either on SparkPeople or on the computer.  This is HUGE for me because when I don’t track, I am sure I grossly underestimate the amount of calories I consume.  So even if I only am able to jot stuff down on a piece of paper or in a note on Outlook, I’m tracking my food. 
5.  Drink at least 64 ounces of water a day.  For some reason I have struggled with this since having Charlotte, but I have been doing better with this since being at work, which is odd.  I have a water bottle at my desk that I try to refill often, and I think just having it in front of me keeps me mindful of my water intake. 

These goals are very basic, but I’m in a back-to-the-basics place right now.  I am hopeful I can meet all of these goals, and maybe even surpass some of them (like the weight loss and exericse goals).  I will try to report back each week with my progress.  I will weigh in on Sundays, since that’s when the first of the month was, but it may not be until later that week before I’m able to update.  I know you’ll all be dying of suspense. 🙂 

Do any of you have some goals for this month, fitness or otherwise?  Share them with me!

4 thoughts on “May 2011 Goals

  1. those are great goals! i need to adopt your potato chip policy, i have a problem with eating ruffle lays straight from the bag 😉

    my goal for this month is to walk 30 minutes a day, 5 to 6 days a week. its hard to feel motivated!!

    Like

  2. I HAVE to track my food if I don't I know I eat too much…but I like to think that I'm not. I think on the days that I “mindlessly” eat I would not be a bit surprised if I ate close to 4000 calories. The chocolate really adds up. I'm trying to stay right around 2000 right now but breastfeeding makes me so hungry all the time. It's really hard.

    Good luck and I think setting goals is a great idea!

    Like

  3. tracking food is my goal for the month. I've been horrible at tracking for a while now and I really have to get back to it.

    Great goals. You've done it before you can do it again!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

