Feelin’ Hot Hot Hot

Well friends, I am clearly a genius because I thought it would be a great idea to start running during the hottest time of the year.  It is already in the upper 90s here in West Tennessee, and even though I much prefer running outside to running on the treadmill, I also prefer not having a heat stroke.  I am however going to try running at night as soon as I can find some reflective tape to put on my clothes, so as to avoid collisions with motor vehicles.

Yesterday was Week 5, Day 1 of C25k, and I kept putting it off because I was nervous about the three 5 minute runs the plan calls for.  Plus, I knew that on Day 3 I have to run for a full 20 minutes, which seems crazy to me even the second time around.  Still, as it got later and later last night, I knew it was time to stop goofing off and get to it.  I started off reluctantly, but I soon found myself absorbed in the workout.  All in all, it wasn’t bad at all!  I think I would have enjoyed it more outside, but I did have The Bachelorette on, which allowed me ample time to be completely appalled by the behavior of Bentley. (I mean seriously, how did the producers even find such a lowlife?).  Before I knew it, the official workout was over, but I still felt like going, so I walked for another 15 minutes and ended up with a great 45 minute workout.  I love it when I go farther than I plan to when I am working out.  I try to trick myself into this every now and then by saying that I will just go 5 more minutes, and then usually I want to go a little bit more than that to reach a certain distance, and I end up burning more calories and feeling even better about myself. 

When I am tempted to eat junk or skip a workout now, I am trying to tell myself two things: 1) I am made for more, and 2) It feels much better to be healthy than to be fat.

I think I can, I think I can…

3 thoughts on “Feelin’ Hot Hot Hot

  1. That's GREAT!!!!

    Man, on these super hot days I am truly wishing for a treadmill!!!

    I'm so glad you're enjoying the book and that it has been a help to you. It certainly has been to me. Addressing the spiritual issue has been monumental.

    Like

  2. Today was the hottest day we've had in weeks (nowhere near as hot as you though, although it should be this time of year) and of course, today was the day I wanted to kick off my summer outdoor walking/running. What is it about that HOT weather??

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

