The Zero Calorie Solution to Stress

I don’t talk much about my job on here, but it has been stressful lately because one of the people in my department retired recently, and so my workload has increased significantly. This morning, I got overwhelmed just looking at the work piled up on my desk, and I felt more frazzled as the morning wore on.  By the time lunch rolled around, I was ready to just zip through a drive-thru and order large fries and a large chocolate milkshake so I could feel better.  Or at least, I told myself that eating such food would make me feel better.  I was so close to going, too–so close to succumbing to the very strong urge to respond to stress by eating–but then I reminded myself of a few important things:

1.  Eating junk would not make me feel better.  If anything, I would only feel worse because not only would I have work stress to deal with, I’d have to deal with the guilt of eating things I knew I shouldn’t.

2.  Eating junk would not solve my problem.  My work would still be there when I got back, and no amount of french fries could change that.

3.  My impulse to turn to food to comfort me shows me what I value and what I trust.  If I truly valued and trusted Christ with my life, going to Him with my burden would have been my first instinct, but instead I thought of food.

All of these thoughts swirled around in my head, and I managed to avoid the drive-thru.  Instead, I took a few deep breaths in my car and prayed and asked God to give me strength, not just to face my job, but to face (and conquer!) the temptation to self-medicate with food.  And you know what?  I felt better.  Jesus tells us to cast our burdens on Him, so why don’t I take Him up on that more often?  Why do I believe Satan’s lie that I am facing everything on my own?  The love and grace and power of Christ is mine for the taking, if I but ask.  As 2 Peter 1:3 says, his divine power has given me all that I need for life and godliness!

And guess what? 

Prayer is calorie-free. 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Zero Calorie Solution to Stress

  1. Thanks for the encouraging words! We all need to hear those every now and then. You have a gift for putting your thoughts on paper(I guess the blog is sort of like putting on paper – you can tell I am older!)

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

