Kicks and Giggles

I think it’s much more fun to look at cute babies than write about weight gain, don’t you? And it just so happens that I have a cute baby! See?

That sweet little face just makes my heart melt!  Charlotte is literally getting bigger every day.  I don’t weigh her every day or anything, but I just know she is.  She is smiling a ton and has even given us a few little gigles, and she just started rolling over earlier this week!  Of course, the minute I tried to capture this impressive feat on camera, she wouldn’t do it.  She LOVES playing with her activity gym and batting at the toys hanging from the toy bar on her bouncer all while kicking her chubby little legs furiously. It’s so fun to see her discovering new things and realizing that this world is a big, big place. 
Unfortunately, after giving us about 1-2 blissful weeks of peace at night, the little stinker has not slept for 8 hours at a time at all recently. We’re not really sure what has changed, but she’s still super young, so we’re just waiting for the day when those longer sleep stretches stick.  Right now she’s going to sleep between 8:00 and 8:30 (usually after much fighting–why oh why does she fight the sleep??), waking up around 2 or 3 and then sleeping until 6:30 or 7.  Now that I’m typing it out doesn’t seem that terrible, and it wouldn’t be that terrible if she wouldn’t wake up randomly in between those longer stretches.  She will have little moments of crying out in the middle of the night, and sometimes she will go back to sleep on her own but usually one of us has to go in there and either give her the pacifier or hold her for a minute before she goes back down.  I’m trying to treasure these times, though, because she’s still small enough to snuggle in my arms, and I know that won’t always be the case. 

Basically, she’s a delight, and I couldn’t be more in love!

Oh, and before I forget, I’d like to extend a welcome to the new followers of my blog.  I’m sure you are here because of all the mediocre weight loss I’ve been posting about, right? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Kicks and Giggles

  1. Most babies' sleep patterns will change day-to-day at the drop of a hat. More than likely she's “practicing” new stuff – like rolling over – in her sleep and waking herself up. Nyla did that when she started crawling.

    Don't fret about the sleep! Soon she will sleep 7:30-6:30 every night!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

