July Goals

Apparently, I decided to take a week off from goal-setting and goal-achieving, since I neglected to make any goals for July until now.  Oops.  But I’m always of the mindset of better late than never, so here are my goals for this month:

1.  Get into the 180s.  The 190s and I have had about enough of each other, so THIS will be the month where we say goodbye!  This morning I was still at 193, so I have at least 4 pounds to lose to get to the 180s, and I’d of course love to lose a little more than that this month.

2.  Complete one month of weekly strength training using this book, You Are Your Own Gym, as my guide.  The plan he devises for beginners calls for only 20-30 minutes, 4 times a week.  There is no reason why I shouldn’t be able to do that, barring some sort of injury.  The author, Mark Lauren, says that weight training is vastly superior to cardio (and I think he even would say cardio is a waste of time compared to weight training), so I am going to give my time to strength training for this month to see what kind of difference it makes.  I love that all the exercises are bodyweight exercises, so they require no equipment beyond things like a wall or a sturdy table/chair.  I’m all about simplicity.

3.  Wake up at 6:00 a.m. for Bible reading and prayer.  I got up at 6:10 this morning and was able to get in some solid time with God’s Word, and I really do need this first thing in the day.  At night I am already so sleepy that I am really not giving God my best, just my leftovers. This month I am planning to read through Ecclesiastes and Philippians, plus a Psalm a day.

4.  Track all of my food and stay in range 5/7 days a week.  I didn’t do well with this goal last month AT ALL, so I am hoping that I can get it in gear this month. 

5.  No eating after 8 p.m. I found myself falling into the habit of nighttime snacking, and by then I’ve already eaten my calories for the day, so I need to kick this habit to the curb! 

Those are my goals for this month (what’s left of the month anyway).  I’m also planning to weigh myself every day this month, in the hopes that doing so will help me stay on track.  I feel good today, and tomorrow I will tell you all about my encounter with donuts! 

4 thoughts on “July Goals

  1. I go back and forth on weighing myself everyday. I actually brought my scale to my mom's house so I couldn't weigh myself. I get bummed when after a couple of days it doesn't go down much. I think I do much better with only once a week weigh ins.

    I think I agree with the cardio vs. weights thing. Do you ever see those flabby/skinny people at the gym and all they do is cardio? I don't think they even look good. I wish I could tell them to hit the weights. Plus the more muscle you have the more calories you'll burn all day.

    Like

  2. What you said really speaks to me. I feel like sometimes I do give God my scraps instead of giving him the first of my day. This was very inspiring for me to start doing too. Thanks =)

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

