August Goals

Is anyone else completely shocked that it’s already August??  Where has this year gone?  I will tell you one thing: I am ready to say goodbye to summer!  It’s just too hot. 

Since my last post, I have been doing a lot of thinking and planning, trying to determine my next approach.  I ended up taking a mini-break from actively pursuing weight loss, and that break actually dovetailed nicely with a trip to East Tennessee to see Diana, my best friend from grad school, get married.  Stephen’s parents kept Charlotte for us, and Stephen and I took Friday off so we could get on the road.  We had a great time and got two nights of 8+ hours of sleep, for which we were extremely grateful.  The wedding was lovely, Diana was gorgeous, and Stephen and I had a great time relaxing and being together. 

While on the trip I was finally able to finish Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food.  I started the book in early June and made good headway in it, but didn’t pick it up again until mid-July and then finished off the last bit over the weekend.   I feel like I highlighted about 80% of the pages, it was so good.  What I love about the Kindle is that when I highlight something in a book, it saves it in a place called “My Clippings,” so I can go back and revisit all of the noteworthy passages.  I’ve already been rereading key passages to keep the ideas fresh in my mind.  I can’t recommend this book enough.

Now that I’ve had a chance to recharge, relax, and recommit, I am attacking August with gusto!  Here are my goals for this month:

1.  No Facebook until I lose 5 pounds.  This is huge for me, since Facebook should more aptly be termed Crackbook because of the way that I compulsively check it each day.  I am hoping that not logging in to Facebook until I have lost 5 pounds will help motivate me and also make me a bit less addicted to Crackbook. I anticipate that this goal may actually take me longer than a month, and that’s okay.

2.  No bread for 2 weeks.  Bread is a big weakness for me, and while I am not ready to give up all carbs, I am going to try abstaining from bread for two weeks.  I think this will really help me be more intentional about my meals and also help me practice the important art of discipline.

3.  No fast food for 2 weeks.  We eat fast food a lot, and I just can’t pretend anymore that I make healthy choices when we eat at a fast food place.  The lure of fries is too great, so I am going to steer clear of all fast food for at least 2 weeks and maybe more.  

4.  Exercise 4 times a week.  Initially I was going to plan on exercising M-F at 5:30 a.m., but I’m just not sure at this point if it’s realistic, especially after night like last night, when Charlotte was up about 4 times.  (I’m pretty sure she’s either teething or sick, so a doctor visit is probably in our future).  I think 4 times is a reasonable, achievable goal.  I’m not putting a time requirement with this goal but hope to get at least 20 minutes of exercise for each workout. 

5. Spend time in Bible study and prayer every day.  If Made to Crave taught me anything, it taught me (or rather reinforced) that Christ must be at the center of this journey, and so I must make time with Him a priority. 

Well, I think these goals should keep me challenged for the month!  What are your goals? 

I miss Facebook already. 🙂

4 thoughts on “August Goals

  1. Hey, Erin – How about if I join you on the Facebook logout? I, too, feel like I check it WAY too much and realized that it does very little for me. I will vow to stay off of FB (even on my phone) until I also lose 5 pounds. Today I weighed in at 204, so it's fitting that I won't log in again until I am at 199!

    Maybe it'll make it easier for you if you know someone else is right there with you. I know I need the break and maybe I'll spend that time reading scripture or journaling instead.

    Take good care!

    Like

  2. Hey girl! I like your goals for this month! I actually decided on a facebook hiatus too, it just got to be soul-sucking so I nixed it. Charlotte is beautiful, I like the updated pictures! Hope you are doing well friend!!!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

