Biting the Bullet

Thanks to everyone who weighed in on my scale dilemma (pun obnoxiously intended). I’m sure you’re wondering what I decided (and if you’re not wondering, too bad because I’m telling you anyway!).  Well, I did it. I bit the bullet.

I weighed myself on Saturday.

Weight on Aug. 24: 190.2

Weight on Sept. 17: 188.8
LOSS of 1.4 pounds

I have to be honest: I was completely relived to find out I didn’t gain 5 pounds! While losing 1.4 pounds over a 3.5 week period is nothing to brag about, I am just glad I lost anything.

However…

Clearly this experiment of staying away from the scale did not work for me, and that’s okay. I guess I’m not quite ready to let go of the scale. But I don’t want that silly little number to have the power to affect my mood, so I’m still going to limit how often I weigh. I think what I’ve decided is that I’m going to weigh on the first of the month and the fifteenth of the month. That way I won’t go more than 2 weeks between weigh-ins and won’t be weighing so frequently that I get obsessed. I’m hoping this middle ground will work for me and help me focus on what really matters in this weight loss journey: being healthy. I’m still working on my healthy habits, and I think that renewed focus on those coupled with routine check-ins on the scale will get me to my goal weight, sooner rather than later.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some fruit to eat. 🙂

One thought on “Biting the Bullet

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

