Race Report: Right Road 4 Miler, Part 2

I know you’re all on the edge of your seats, anxious to know if I achieved my two goals of finishing and having a faster final mile than first mile. As I mentioned in my previous post, mile 3 was my most challenging mile, but I was determined not to let that discourage me from finishing strong. However, I was struggling and kept looking at my watch to see how much farther I had to go. I am so glad that Haley was with me because it’s possible I would have just walked the rest of the race if she hadn’t been there.

Finally, we started to get closer and closer to the finish line, and when we turned the corner and I actually saw it, I audibly sighed with relief. Seeing that bright finish sign must have given me the extra motivation I needed because I decided to put it into high gear and finish really strong. I picked up the pace and soon I felt my breath quickening, my feet flying, my arms pumping. I could see the clock up ahead, and it read 47:30. I was determined to end at 48:00 or less, so I ran as hard as I could, feeling as though my lungs might burst. I saw my mom and Stephen and smiled, thrilled that I was almost done. My eyes were fixated on the clock as the seconds ticked by, and I wasn’t sure I would make it by the time 48:00 flashed on the clock.

Then my feet zoomed past the finish and a man told me, “48 flat, great job.” I finished the race in exactly 48 minutes! I was so completely relieved to be finished, as evidenced by the photo Stephen took just after I crossed the finish line:

Haley, being the sweetheart that she is, totally let me finish before her even though she could have beaten me by a wide margin. She said it was my birthday so I should finish first. 🙂 
So, I could check goal #1 off my list, but what about goal #2? Thanks to my handy Garmin, I was able to see my times for each mile. Here they are:

Mile 1: 12:04

Mile 2: 11:56
Mile 3: 12:14 (the hardest mile)
Mile 4: 11:30
Goal #2 met! Mile 4 was a solid 34 seconds faster than mile 1! It was definitely the sprint at the end that allowed me to meet this goal. I would have liked to have had all negative splits, but I’m happy with how the race turned out. I’m also glad it’s over, but I’m already looking for a 5k in Jackson that I can run in November. 🙂
Post-race pics with Haley and the hubs:

I’m so happy that I decided to begin my 30th year with a race!

6 thoughts on “Race Report: Right Road 4 Miler, Part 2

  1. You go girl! I am SO SO proud of you. 12 minute miles is impressive!!!

    I wish I lived closer so I could have run with you. What an awesome way to celebrate #30.

    We are running an 8k on Thanksgiving Day. That will be my first day in 2 years!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

