How to Gain Weight Over Thanksgiving Break

1. Go off your no sweets challenge. Multiple times.
2. Don’t exercise.
3. Repeat. Multiple times.

That’s how I gained 1.6 pounds. How about you?

I think I knew on Wednesday that I was going to blow it with my no sweets challenge. Wednesday at work we had a Thanksgiving potluck, and there were several yummy looking confections that I was longing to eat. People were gushing over them, and it killed me that I couldn’t have any of it. Instead of feeling proud of my resolve, I felt sorry for myself that I couldn’t be a person like my husband, who can eat whatever he wants and not gain weight. Poor me and my first world problems. Even though I didn’t eat any sweets that day, I thought about them all. day. long. Just ask Stephen. That night it was all I thought about. So when Thanksgiving rolled around, and I was confronted with my most favorite of desserts, carrot cake, I gave in. Or gave up, rather. I threw caution to the wind and ate that carrot cake. Was it good? Yes.

But the real question: Was it worth it?

No.

No, it wasn’t. It wasn’t worth it because eating that one piece of cake only led me to eat some chocolate chip cookies later, and then pumpkin pie and cookie cake and a few fun size Snickers over the span of the weekend. I knew what I was doing when I chose to eat each of those things, knew that I was willfully eating more than I needed, but I chose to ignore the gentle whisper of the Holy Spirit and let gluttony win. Again.

Please know that I don’t think it’s always a sin to eat sweets. It’s not. But for me, in those moments, eating those sweets was a sin because I was looking to that food to satisfy a craving I’d had since I had stopped eating sweets. I was looking to that food to do what only God can do–fill me up. And just like every other time, I found the food wanting. I didn’t feel satisfied. Only guilty. Defeated.

Oh, but thanks be to God that there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus! I must remember that it is for freedom that He has set me free. I want to stand firm and not be burdened.

Lord, help me stand firm.

One thought on “How to Gain Weight Over Thanksgiving Break

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

