Don’t Get Sad, Get Fit!

Confession: I only worked out TWICE in November. 65 minutes total. Pitiful, right? I’m not entirely sure what happened, but I think I can blame laziness and exhaustion for the bulk of it. It’s been hard to find a good routine that allows me optimal time with Charlotte and Stephen and also time to workout, read my Bible, and oh yeah, work full time. I haven’t figured it out yet, but the most logical of solutions is the one I’m least fond of: waking up early. When I wake up at 5:30 or 5:40, like I did this morning, I can get things accomplished. Charlotte and Stephen are both still sleeping then, so I’m not missing out on time with either of them, and I enjoy the time to myself. Unfortunately, more often than not I end up setting my alarm for 5:30, hitting it when it goes off, and then going back to sleep for another hour.

This was not always the case. Early on in my first attempt to lose weight, back in 2008 and 2009, I routinely woke up at 5:30 or 6:00 to exercise. It was just a matter of routine. I rarely skipped, rarely overslept my alarm. So what’s different now? The obvious difference is that I now have a 9-month-old who still enjoys the occasional crack-of-dawn wake-up call. However, while the early days of Charlotte’s life resulted in some serious sleep deprivation, the truth is I’m FAR more rested than I was when she was a newborn, so the baby excuse really doesn’t fly.

Perhaps if I were gaining weight from the lack of exercise, I’d be more motivated, but I managed to lose 4 pounds in November. 4 pounds isn’t stellar, but it’s pretty typical weight loss for me, and I’m happy about it. Of course, who knows what I would have lost if I had exercised!

Ultimately I think it comes down to the fact that I don’t want weight loss badly enough to get up early. I’d rather sleep in than exercise. I’d rather succumb to laziness than chase after fitness. I may have run 4 miles back in October, but I’m fairly certain there’s no way I could do that right now, and that makes me sad. But more than making me sad, it’s making me motivated. Motivated to make a concerted effort to take care of myself and my body so I can be a good example for Charlotte and a good steward of this body that God has given me.

Do you have any good tips for waking up earlier?

6 thoughts on “Don’t Get Sad, Get Fit!

  1. I've tried to make Milo's middle-of-the-night wake-up calls a little easier by saving episodes of my favorite tv shows to watch then. It makes it a lot easier to wake up when I know I'm getting to watch “Gilmore Girls” or “The Biggest Loser.” 🙂 Maybe DVR or hulu tv while you exercise in the morning? Or reward yourself with a tasty (but healthy) breakfast?

    Like

  2. Good for you girl, get at it! Waking up early is soooo hard to do , and like you when I started my weight loss journey 4 years ago, I woke up early to work out. Something that helped me is I had my clothes already laid out and I just didn't think about it. I literally rolled out of bed (and on the floor haha) and found my way to my workout clothes and did it. If I thought about it too much, I wouldn't go. Also, if I was running, I'd have a new fitness magazine so I could open it to pages of women who's bodies I envied. Helped me run longer 🙂

    Like

  3. I need tips too! I can't get up in the morning to save my life! It's been awful and I've barely exercised since Mark was born. I know I have to figure something out, I'm just not sure what. I wish we had a treadmill in the house, but we don't… and I just can't get to the YMCA. UGH.

    Like

  4. I hate waking up early, too. My only tip is to go to bed earlier, which is not always possible! 😉 Good for you for losing those 4 pounds, though! A little is a whole lot better than none 🙂

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

