2012 Goals

I like making goals for the new year. There’s something exciting about a new year and a fresh start. Unfortunately, I don’t have the greatest track record when it comes to meeting my yearly goals. In 2009 I made 18 (!) goals.  What in the world was I thinking making so many goals? No wonder I didn’t achieve some and forgot about others!  In 2010 I slashed my number of goals by more than half, but I completely stopped tracking my progress on most of them and therefore have no idea how I fared with the ones that required lots of record-keeping.  I was smarter this year in that I only made 3 goals for 2011, but still I did not meet any of them. #3 (Complete Couch to 5k and run in 3 races) is the one I came closest to meeting, as I did manage to complete Couch to 5k but only ran in one race. And while I would have loved to have made it to my pre-pregnancy weight and read through the Bible, I’m okay with the fact that those goals did not happen. I made progress on each of those goals, so they weren’t completely failures. Furthermore, my life changed in a big way this year, and I’m just now starting to feel like a routine is taking shape.

With that being said, I’m not going to make a ton of goals for the year. Instead, I want to focus on making goals each month that will help me accomplish my year-long goals. There are 3 big goals I want to accomplish this year, and I think I can create monthly mini goals to make them reality.

1. Get to my goal weight.  I am determined that 2012 will be the last year this appears on my list of goals. I want to go into 2013 with “maintain my goal weight” as a goal.  I have been at this weight loss thing for almost 4 years. It’s time. Right now my goal weight is between 155-160 pounds.

2. Run a half marathon. I set this goal in 2010, and I came really close to achieving it only to give up on it only 3 weeks before the race. At the time I think it was the right decision, but I REALLY wish I had just sucked it up and run the race. It’s going to happen this year, even if I have to walk some/all of it!

3. Read through the Bible. I’m fortunate in that my Life Group (aka Sunday School class) at church is going through this chronological plan in 2012, so there will be a lot of support and accountability for this goal. It’s been a few years since I’ve read through the Bible, and I’m looking forward to the chronological approach in particular. If anyone else is interested in doing this, please let me know in the comments! We can be a support for each other!

Are you making goals for the new year? Share them with me!

3 thoughts on “2012 Goals

  1. I'm halfway through the chronological reading plan. I LOVE it! It's opened my eyes to so many connections in the Bible! You'll love it. Recommendation- David Platt's sermon series “A Chronicle of Redemption.” There are podcasts on iTunes and on his website (brookhills.org).

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

